Thursday, November 11, 2010

AC/DC, Slash and The Rolling Stones win big at 2010 Classic Rock Awards

The 2010 Classic Rock “Roll Of Honour” Awards were handed out Wednesday night at the Roundhouse in London, with Alice Cooper hosting the event.

It was the 6th year for the awards, presented in a variety of categories for the classic rock set, featuring, for the first time, live performances, including: The Union, the new band from Thunder guitarist Luke Morley, plus Alter Bridge and power pop originators Cheap Trick.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Band Of The Year: AC/DC
Album Of The Year: Slash – "Slash"
Reissue Of The Year: Rolling Stones – "Exile On Main St"
Classic Album: Cheap Trick – "Live At Budokan"
DVD/Film Of The Year: Dr Feelgood – Oil City Confidential
Event Of The Year: Journey’s "Don’t Stop Believin’" goes Top 10
Living Legend: Rush
Metal Guru: Geezer Butler
Classic Songwriter: Roy Wood
Outstanding Contribution: John Paul Jones
Spirit Of Prog: Rick Wakeman
Childline Rocks Award: Glenn Hughes
Marshall ‘11’ Award: Michael Schenker
Innovator: Killing Joke
VIP Award: John Jackson
Tommy Vance Inspiration: Ronnie James Dio
Breakthrough: Imelda May
Best New Band:
The Union

AC/DC – Rock N Roll Train (2008)

Slash – Beautiful Dangerous (2010)

The Rolling Stones – Happy
"Ladies And Gentlemen... The Rolling Stones" DVD