Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Neil Young, Rush receive Juno Award nominations

On Tuesday, Canada’s national music honors, the Juno Awards, announced the nominations for the 2011 event.

The usual rap and pop music artists snagged the headlines, but there were some highlight mentions for rock fans.

Neil Young picked up a nomination for “Artist Of The Year.” Neil’s “Le Noise” also snagged a nod for “Producer Of The Year” for Daniel Lanois. And, as we reported last week, Young will be on hand to receive the Allan Waters Humanitarian Award at the ceremony.

Rush received a nomination for “Music DVD Of The Year” for the “Beyond The Lighted Stage” documentary.

The work of Canadians on records by a couple of major international artists received nominations in the "Recording Engineer Of The Year" category.

Ozzy Osbourne producer Kevin Churko was listed for his work on two tracks from “Scream” - "Let It Die" and "Life Won't Wait." Bon Jovi producer Mike Plotnikoff was also listed for “What Do You Got?” from the band’s “Greatest Hits: The Ultimate Collection” album.

The 40th annual Juno Awards take place March 27 in Toronto.

Neil Young – Walk With Me (2010)

See also:

Neil Young to receive Humanitarian Award at Canada’s Juno Awards
Rush add Vancouver date in June