Thursday, April 14, 2011

William Shatner album to feature Zakk Wylde, Ritchie Blackmore, Peter Frampton & more

Next week, legendary actor, recording artist and author William Shatner will be presented with the Honorary Headbanger Award at the third annual Revolver Golden Gods Award Show, happening Wednesday, April 20, at Club Nokia in Downtown Los Angeles.

Revered for his role as Captain James T. Kirk on Star Trek, Shatner will be on-hand to accept his award, an honor Revolver magazine bestows each year to someone who has made their name outside of the metal world but still embodies its spirit.

Later this year, Shatner will officially prove the latter with his new album, “Searching For Major Tom” (formerly “Seeking Major Tom"), which features collaborations with hard-rock musicians including Ritchie Blackmore and Ian Paice of Deep Purple, and, on a cover of Black Sabbath’s “Iron Man,” Zakk Wylde of Black Label Society and Mike Inez of Alice in Chains.

A full track listing has been announced for “Searching For Major Tom.”

01. Space Trucking (Deep Purple)
* Ian Paice (Deep Purple) on drums
* Johnny Winter on guitar

02. She Blinded Me With Science (Thomas Dolby)
* Bootsy Collins on bass
* Patrick Moraz (Yes, Moody Blues) on keyboards/synthesizers

03. In A Little While (U2)
* Manuel Gottsching (Ash Ra Tempel) on guitar

04. Empty Glass (The Tea Party)
* Michael Schenker (MSG, UFO, Scorpions) on guitar

05. Lost In The Stars (Frank Sinatra version)
* Ernie Watts on saxophone

06. Twilight Zone (Golden Earring)
* Warren Haynes (Gov’t Mule, Allman Brothers) on guitar

07. Space Cowboy (Steve Miller)
* Brad Paisley on guitar and vocals

08. Rocket Man (Elton John)
* Steve Hillage (Gong) on guitar

09. Space Oddity (David Bowie)
* Ritchie Blackmore on guitar
* Alan Parsons on keyboards

10. Spirit In The Sky (Norman Greenbaum)
* Peter Frampton on guitar

11. Bohemian Rhapsody (Queen)
* John Wetton (Asia) on bass and vocals

12. Silver Machine (Hawkwind)
* Wayne Kramer (MC5) on guitar
* Carmine Appice on drums

13. Major Tom (Peter Shilling)
* Nick Valensi (The Strokes) on guitar
* Zakk Wylde (Black Label Society, ex-Ozzy Osbourne) on guitar
* Mike Inez (Alice In Chains) on bass

14. Learning to Fly (Pink Floyd)
* Edgar Froese (Tangerine Dream) on guitar and keyboards

15. Mr. Spaceman (The Byrds)
* Dave Davies (The Kinks) on guitar

16. Iron Man (Black Sabbath)
* Zakk Wylde (Black Label Society, ex-Ozzy Osbourne) on guitar & vocals

17. Planet Earth (Duran Duran)
* Steve Howe (Yes) on guitar

18. Walking On The Moon (The Police)
* Toots (Toots & The Maytals) on vocals

19. Mrs. Major Tom
* Female guest vocalist to be announced

William Shatner – Zakk Wylde session

See also:

William Shatner to receive Honorary Headbanger Award
Zakk Wylde and William Shatner to cover Black Sabbath classic