Wednesday, December 26, 2012

The Black Crowes to release new live album

On Christmas Day, The Black Crowes announced their return from the self-imposed “indefinite hiatus” the band took following their 20th Anniversary tour in 2010/11.

The band posted a full series of dates for their “Lay Down With Number 13” world tour.

The first leg will encompass dates in the U.K. March 24-30 and the U.S. April 2-May 4.

Tickets for this first leg go on sale January 11 at 10:13 AM Local Time and ticket link information will be available on January 1 at Additional dates will be announced soon.

The band has also announced the March 19 vinyl release of the live album, “Wiser For The Time.” Its eight sides on four vinyl albums will contain 26 songs – 15 acoustic and 11 electric – from the band’s five-night, sold-out NYC performances in the fall of 2010. These never-released-before versions will also be available as a double album digital download.

Chris Robinson (lead vocals, guitar), Rich Robinson (guitar, vocals), Steve Gorman (drums), Sven Pipien (bass) and Adam Macdougall (keyboards) of The Black Crowes “are thrilled to announce the addition of our good friend Jackie Greene” on guitar and vocals.

The band is offering via their website a free mobile web app. It includes a free download of the acoustic version of “Under A Mountain” performed live in NYC in 2010. This offering is exclusive and not included on “Wiser For The Time.”

The first leg of the “Lay Down With Number 13” tour begins March 24 in Manchester in the U.K. and will run through May 4 in New Orleans.

Check out a list of tour dates here.

The Black Crowes

See also:

The Black Crowes end hiatus, announce 2013 tour
VIDEO: Jimmy Page rocks London with The Black Crowes
The Black Crowes: Chris Robinson announces new band and tour
The Black Crowes announce final dates of 20th Anniversary tour
Black Crowes drummer talks hiatus and longevity
Black Crowes finish tour, start indefinite hiatus