Monday, March 4, 2013

The Black Crowes preview live album with Bob Dylan cover

The Black Crowes will release their new live album, "Wiser For The Time," on March 19.

Its eight sides on four vinyl albums will contain 26 songs – 15 acoustic and 11 electric – from the band’s five-night, sold-out NYC performances in the fall of 2010. These never-released-before versions will also be available as a double album digital download.

The project syncs up with the launch of the Crowes “Lay Down With Number 13” tour, which sees the group returning to the road after their self-imposed “hiatus” of a few years ago.

The tour's first leg will encompass dates in the U.K. March 24-30 and the U.S. starting April 2.

To preview the new release, The Crowes have issued a version of Bob Dylan’s "Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You," which is being streamed at Rolling Stone here.

"The Black Crowes have always covered a lot of Bob's songs," singer Chris Robinson tells Rolling Stone. "In my mind, this great tapestry of music we are involved in cannot be weaved without sharing Bob's mighty threads!"

The Black Crowes - Chris Robinson (lead vocals, guitar), Rich Robinson (guitar, vocals), Steve Gorman (drums), Sven Pipien (bass) and Adam Macdougall (keyboards) – recently announced the addition of “our good friend Jackie Greene” on guitar and vocals.

See also:

The Black Crowes announce special all-acoustic show
The Black Crowes to release new live album
The Black Crowes end hiatus, announce 2013 tour
VIDEO: Jimmy Page rocks London with The Black Crowes
The Black Crowes: Chris Robinson announces new band and tour
The Black Crowes announce final dates of 20th Anniversary tour
Black Crowes drummer talks hiatus and longevity
Black Crowes finish tour, start indefinite hiatus