Wednesday, February 5, 2014

Asia to release new album

British supergroup Asia will release a new album, “Gravitas”, next month.

Produced and written by John Wetton and Geoff Downes, the project introduces Asia’s new guitarist, Sam Coulson, who replaced Steve Howe last year following his return to the Yes lineup.

“With the addition of Sam it allowed us to take the band in a slightly different, and perhaps tougher, direction.” says drummer Carl Palmer. “He brings a different feel to Asia with his guitar work. As a band we have been able to grow, while at the same time, remain true to the classic Asia sound that our fans know and love.”

Scheduled for release on March 5th (Japan), March 21st (Europe). and March 25th (North America), “Gravitas” will be available in two configurations: a standard CD and a Deluxe Edition, that will include two bonus tracks and a DVD containing the “Valkyrie” music video, a promotional film, and footage of classic live Asia tracks such as “Heat Of The Moment”, recorded with the Plovdiv Philharmonic Orchestra in Bulgaria.

“Pure, unadulterated and stereotypical Asia, with raw energy, enthusiasm and free from impurities,” says Wetton. “It conveys the spectrum of emotion and colour from real life agonies to ecstatic fantasy of escapism. Great songs, fabulous performance. Gravitas is Asia by Asia. At last.”

Asia will launch a world tour to support “Gravitas” in June.

“Gravitas” can be pre-ordered via the Amazon link below.


01. Valkyrie
02. Gravitas
03. The Closer I Get To You
04. Nyctophobia
05. Russian Dolls
06. Heaven Help Me Now
07. I Would Die For You
08. Joe Di Maggio's Glove
09. Till We Meet Again
10. The Closer I Get To You (acoustic)*
11. Joe Di Maggio's Glove (acoustic)*

DVD (*):
* "Valkyrie" (videoclip)
* "Heat Of The Moment" (Live in Plovdiv with Plovdiv Philharmonic Orchestra)
* [to be announced] (live in Plovdiv with Plovdiv Philharmonic Orchestra)
* [to be announced] (live in Plovdiv with Plovdiv Philharmonic Orchestra)

* Available only on the Deluxe Edition

See also:

Steve Howe quits Asia to focus on Yes and other projects
VIDEO: Asia – original lineup returns with new song
Search Asia at hennemusic