Thursday, September 25, 2014

Whitesnake to release 1984 live package

Whitesnake will release “Live In ‘84 - Back To The Bone”, a collection of material from the period, on November 11 in North America (Nov 7 in Europe).

Available on DVD and Deluxe CD/DVD packages, the project is being issued in sync with the 30th Anniversary of Whitesnake’s multi-platinum “Slide It In” album.

“Live In ‘84” has been culled from audio and video recordings and unheard demos from the private collection of Whitesnake leader and vocalist David Coverdale. The set presents an ultra-rare collection of material performed by the band’s acclaimed 83-84 line-ups.

Featured on the record are drummer Cozy Powell (Jeff Beck Group, Rainbow, MSG, Gary Moore, Black Sabbath), bassist Neil Murray and guitarist John Sykes, whom Coverdale credits with inspiring a whole generation of musicians after his work on the band’s 1987 self-titled album.

Bonus content includes legendary keyboardist Jon Lord performing his last show ever with Whitesnake.

“It’s still hard for me to find the words when remembering that half the incredible band who originally recorded the ‘Slide It In’ album with me have passed away,” says Coverdale. “It’s incredibly difficult to articulate: Cozy Powell...Mel Galley...Jon Lord…All amazing people and amazing musicians. Their memories live on in our hearts and in the music they made. I miss them beyond words… Wait until you see and hear them playing as only they can and add in the fiery guitar assault of the incredibly gifted John Sykes, plus the relentless melodic bass pounding of Neil Murray.”

"Live In '84 - Back To The Bone"

CD (only available in combo edition)

01. Gambler
02. Guilty Of Love
03. Love Ain't No Stranger
04. Slow An' Easy
05. Walking In The Shadow Of The Blues
06. Ready An' Willing
07. Guitar Solo
08. Crying In The Rain
09. Soldier Of Fortune
10. Love Ain't No Stranger
11. Ready An' Willing
12. Slow An' Easy

Bonus Tracks - Jon Lord's Final Performance With Whitesnake (Medley)

13. Gambler (featuring Jon Lord)
14. Guilty Of Love (featuring Jon Lord)
15. Love Ain't No Stranger (featuring Jon Lord)
16. Ready An' Willing (featuring Jon Lord)


01. Gambler
02. Guilty of Love
03. Love Ain't No Stranger
04. Ready An' Willing
05. Slow An' Easy
06. Crying In The Rain
07. Guitar Solo
08. Soldier Of Fortune
09. Drum Solo
10. Ain't No Love In The Heart Of The City
11. Don't Break My Heart Again

Bonus Tracks - Jon Lord's Final Performance with Whitesnake (Medley)

12. Gambler (featuring Jon Lord)
13. Guilty Of Love (featuring Jon Lord)
14. Love Ain't No Stranger (featuring Jon Lord)
15. Ready an' Willing (featuring Jon Lord)

DVD Bonus Gallery - "Slide It In Slide Show" with rare unseen photos. The music bed contains snippets of private demos from David's personal archives.

See also:

Whitesnake names new guitarist
VIDEO: Whitesnake build new studio
Whitesnake update status of new guitarist search
Guitarist Doug Aldrich explains decision to leave Whitesnake
Search Whitesnake at hennemusic