Tuesday, October 18, 2016

ELO: Jeff Lynne comments on 2017 Rock Hall nomination

The Electric Light Orchestra were among the nominees announced Tuesday for possible induction into the 2017 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame.

The group are being considered for the Class Of 2017 alongside heavy hitters like Pearl Jam, Journey, Yes and The Cars, among others, and ELO co-founder and frontman Jeff Lynne says he is honored by the group’s first-time nomination.

“I’m very proud to see my ELO music getting this great recognition,” says Lynne. “It’s a big honor to be nominated for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame."

Formed in Birmingham, UK in 1970 by Lynne, Roy Wood and drummer Bev Bevan, ELO’s unique mix of rock and classical elements saw the group amass a series of hits throughout the 1970s with songs like “Evil Woman”, “Livin’ Thing”, “Strange Magic”, “Telephone Line”, “Shine A Little Love” and “Don’t Bring Me Down”, among others.

ELO members went their separate ways in 1986, with Bevan carrying on as “ELO Part II” before selling his half of the rights to the brand to Lynne in early 2000.

Encouraged by the success of the 2000 box set “Flashback”, Lynne released “Zoom” in 2001 and then, in 2012, issued “Mr, Blue Sky: The Very Best of Electric Light Orchestra”, a package that featured new recordings of the group’s hits by the singer.

The multi-instrumentalist has been touring in recent years under the banner Jeff Lynne’s ELO following the release of 2015’s “Alone In The Universe.”

The 2017 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame inductees will be announced in December; the ceremony will take place in New York in April, with more details to be announced.


See also:

Pearl Jam, Journey, ELO lead 2017 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame nominees
Jeff Lynne’s ELO announces Radio City Music Hall show
Jeff Lynne’s ELO announces Hollywood Bowl shows
Jeff Lynne’s ELO issue One Step At A Time lyric video
Search ELO at hennemusic