Sunday, June 26, 2022

Neil Young previews new live release Noise & Flowers

Neil Young and Promise Of The Real are streaming video of a 2019 performance of “From Hank To Hendrix” as the first preview to the August 5 release of a concert film and companion album, “Noise & Flowers.”

The project “is a record made just after the passing of my life-long manager and friend Elliot Roberts,” shared the rocker on his Neil Young Archives site. “Promise Of The Real and I had a tour planned of Europe. D [Daryl Hannah] and I were in the bus, on our way to New York to catch a plane to Europe .. when we got the call. After returning to the funeral for our beloved Elliot, we got on a plane and left for the tour.

“During the tour, we had a poster of Elliot on a road case, where he always stood during all shows. Everyone who was with us felt that this tour was amazing for its great vibe. The Real and I delivered for Elliot.”

The 14-track project mixes classics with deep cuts and fan favorites, and includes a rare electric performance of the title track to Young’s 1974 album, “On The Beach.”

“Truly a great collection,” adds Young, “dripping with the soul of our band as we played for our fallen leader.”

“Noise & Flowers” will be available in multiple formats, including Deluxe Edition 2LP, CD and Blu-ray sets.

Neil Young and Promise Of The Real
“Noise And Flowers”

Release date: August 5

01 - Mr. Soul
02 - Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere
03 - Helpless
04 - Field Of Opportunity
05 - Alabama
06 - Throw Your Hatred Down
07 - Rockin' In The Free World
08 - Comes A Time
09 - Hank To Hendrix
10 - On The Beach
11 - Are You Ready For The Country
12 - I've Been Waiting For You
13 - Winterlong
14 - Fuckin' Up

See also:

Neil Young to issue unreleased 2001 Crazy Horse album Toast
Neil Young expands Official Bootleg Series with three 1970s concerts
Neil Young streams 1989 rarity from new box set
Neil Young and Crazy Horse stream Barn documentary
Search Neil Young at hennemusic