Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Conan O’Brien records with Jack White

Interesting stop last week on Conan O’Brien’s “Legally Prohibited From Being Funny On Television” tour…

Conan landed at Jack White’s Third Man Records in Nashville last Thursday to record the set for future release on vinyl. About 1,000 fans lined up for the chance to be one of the lucky 300 who made it inside for the show, which featured tracks like Willie Nelson’s “On the Road Again”, The Band’s “The Weight”, Elvis Presley’s “Blue Moon”, Stray Cats’ “Rock This Town”, and Radiohead’s “Creep.”

Also featured was a version of The White Stripe’s Seven Nation Army,” and a fan-made video of most of the song is featured below.

Jack joined Conan for covers of Eddie Cochran’s “Twenty Flight Rock” and Ronnie Hawkins’ “Forty Days.”

In keeping with the analog theme of pressing the show to vinyl, the full set was recorded to reel-to-reel tape, and the show paused briefly so that the producers could change tapes without missing anything.

Available late next month, the album can be pre-ordered now via Third Man Records here.

Conan O’Brien
Jack White intro / Blue Moon Of Kentucky (snippet) / Seven Nation Army (snippet)

Third Man Records, Nashville, TN – June 10, 2010

The White Stripes - Elephant - Seven Nation Army The White Stripes - Elephant - Seven Nation Army

The White Stripes – Seven Nation Army (2003)