Monday, October 11, 2010

Helix: “Smash Hits Unplugged” on the way

Legendary Canadian metal band Helix has announced that a new release is on the horizon.

“Smash Hits Unplugged” will feature a dozen Helix tracks that span their career, including “Rock You,” “Heavy Metal Love,” “Deep Cuts The Knife” and their cover of the 1972 Canadian hit by A Foot In Coldwater, “(Make Me Do) Anything You Want.”

“Over the past two weeks, we’ve been hard at work at A Studios here in London, Ontario with Aaron Murray on our upcoming acoustic CD,” says Helix singer Brian Vollmer. “The CD is comprised of all our hits, plus the James Leroy song, “A Touch of Magic,” which I’ve always wanted to record. I actually met and talked to James Leroy long ago (around 1980) when we played The Belgium Club in Delhi with Major Hooples Boarding House.”

“Sean Kelly, Aaron Murray, and myself are the producers,” continues Vollmer. “Sean also played some guitar on it along with (guitarists) Brent (Doerner) & Kaleb (Duck). We’re using such diverse instruments as mandolin & fiddle, plus all sorts of different percussion instruments. It’s been great fun so far and we’re very happy with the results. We’re hoping to finish up this week and then it’s off to mastering and then the pressing plant. We’re shooting for a November release.”

Smash Hits Unplugged

* Rock You
* Heavy Metal Love
* Gimme Gimme Good Lovin'
* Make Me Do (Anything You Want)
* Wild In The Streets/No Rest For The Wicked
* Deep Cuts The Knife
* The Kids Are All Shakin'
* Dream On
* That Day Is Gonna Come
* Good To The Last Drop
* A Touch of Magic
(James Leroy cover)

Helix Helix

Helix – Heavy Metal Love (1983)

Helix – The Kids Are All Shakin’ (1985)

Helix – (Make Me Do) Anything You Want (1984)