Wednesday, December 22, 2010

The Ramones to receive Lifetime Grammy Award


The Ramones are getting a Lifetime Grammy Award.

On Wednesday, the Recording Academy® ( announced its 2011 Special Merit Awards recipients and Lifetime Achievement Award honorees, and this year's group includes: Julie Andrews, Roy Haynes, Juilliard String Quartet, The Kingston Trio, Dolly Parton, The Ramones and George Beverly Shea.

The artists will receive their statuettes at an event in Los Angeles on February 12, a day before the 53rd annual Grammy Awards ceremony is held.

The Ramones emerged from New York’s punk scene in the ‘70s, influencing many others to form bands of their own, while cranking out records and non-stop performances.

The band disbanded in 1996 and three of its founding members — lead singer Joey Ramone, guitarist Johnny Ramone and bassist Dee Dee Ramone — are all deceased.

The Ramones are the only honouree in this year’s group to have never won a Grammy Award.

The Ramones – Blitzkreig Bop