Wednesday, January 5, 2011

New Robbie Robertson album due in April

Robbie Robertson returns in April with his fifth solo album, and first since 1998.

“How To Become Clairvoyant” – co-produced by Robertson and Marius de Vries - will feature several guests, including Eric Clapton (who co-wrote three tracks and plays on six), Steve Winwood (organ on two songs), Tom Morello, Robert Randolph, Trent Reznor and more.

The album is due April 5.

"It turned out quite extraordinary," Robertson tells Rolling Stone. "I think I’ve written some really good songs, and the boys helped me out."

The title track from the record is set to be featured on the Season Two soundtrack for the popular HBO television series, True Blood.

Rolling Stone also reports that “This is Where I Get Off" is reportedly about Robbie’s departure from The Band in 1976; if true, it’ll be the first time Robertson has ever addressed the issue in a song.

Enjoy a preview of the album: "When the Night Was Young," which can be heard on the 429 Records site here.

Robbie Robertson
"How To Become Clairvoyant"
Release date: April 5, 2011

01 - Straight Down The Line
02 - When The Night Was Young
03 - He Don't Live Here No More
04 - The Right Mistake
05 - This Is Where I Get Off
06 - Fear of Falling
07 - She's Not Mine
08 - Madame X
09 - Axman
10 - Won't Be Back
11 - How To Become Clairvoyant
12 - Tango For Django

While we await the new music, here’s some classic Robbie:

Robbie Robertson Robbie Robertson

Robbie Robertson – Somewhere Down The Crazy River (1987)