Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Iron Maiden: ‘From Fear To Eternity’ Best-Of compilation due in May

Iron Maiden has announced a new “best of” collection is on its way from the legendary metal band.

Due May 23, “From Fear To Eternity: The Best Of 1990-2010” is a double-CD set spanning twenty years, coming on the heels of the success of Maiden’s 2010 studio album, “The Final Frontier,” which hit the number one spot in 28 countries around the world. It also became the band's highest-charting album in the US, where Maiden were recently awarded their first Grammy for Best Metal Performance, for the song “El Dorado.”

“From Fear To Eternity” is a chance for new fans of the band to explore Iron Maiden's history, with the highlights of their last eight studio albums distilled into this collection, which follows 2009's compilation of their earlier work, the 1980-1990 “Somewhere Back In Time” album.

This new collection charts the musical development of Britain's most successful metal band as they have evolved their sound, producing longer, more complex songs, gaining huge critical acclaim in the process.

Featuring many of the epics for which the band has become renowned, it is accordingly released as a double-CD, but will retail for the price of a single album.

The full tracklisting for the CD album* is as follows:

1. The Wicker Man 4.36
2. Holy Smoke 3.49
3. El Dorado 6:49
4. Paschendale 8.28
5. Different World 4.19
6. Man On The Edge (LIVE) 4.40
7. The Reincarnation of Benjamin Breeg 7.22
8. Blood Brothers 7.14
9. Rainmaker 3.49
10. Sign of the Cross (LIVE) 10.49
11. Brave New World 6.19
12. Fear Of The Dark (LIVE) 7.41

1. Be Quick Or Be Dead 3.24
2. Tailgunner 4.15
3. No More Lies 7.22
4. Coming Home 5.52
5. The Clansman (LIVE) 9.06
6. For the Greater Good of God 9.25
7. These Colours Don't Run) 6.52
8. Bring Your Daughter... To The Slaughter 4.44
9. Afraid to Shoot Strangers 6.57
10. Dance of Death 8.36
11. When the Wild Wind Blows 11.02

*It will also be made available as a Digital Download Album and as a Limited Edition Triple Vinyl Picture Disc.

Iron Maiden Iron Maiden

Iron Maiden – The Wicker Man

Rock In Rio III – January 19, 2001

See also:

Iron Maiden cancel Japanese shows
Former Iron Maiden singer gets 9 months jail for benefit fraud
Iron Maiden win first Grammy