Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Whole lotta Jimi Hendrix on the way

Get ready for a whole lotta Jimi in 2011.

And, judging by 2010 – when the late James Marshall Hendrix sold more than 1 million albums, there’s plenty of fan interest to go around.

Following the “Valley Of Neptune” and the “West Coast Seattle Boy” anthology releases last year, Experience Hendrix and Sony's Legacy Recordings have announced a new wave of titles from the Jimi Hendrix Catalog Project.

On April 12, we’ll see the release of “Power Of Soul: A Tribute to Jimi Hendrix,” an all-star celebration bringing together 16 high octane performances of best-loved tracks from the Hendrix songbook performed by a who's who of classic and contemporary musicians. This is the first Hendrix tribute album to be curated under the auspices of Experience Hendrix LLC.

“Power Of Soul: A Tribute to Jimi Hendrix”
Release date: April 12, 2011

• Bootsy Collins ("Power Of Soul")
• Cee Lo Green ("Foxey Lady")
• Chaka Khan & Kenny Olson ("Little Wing")
• Devoted Spirits ("Who Knows")
• Earth, Wind & Fire ("Voodoo Child (Slight Return)")
• Eric Clapton ("Burning of the Midnight Lamp")
• Eric Gales ("May This Be Love")
• John Lee Hooker ("Red House")
• Lenny Kravitz ("Have You Ever Been To (Electric Ladyland)")
• Musiq Soulchild ("Are You Experienced?")
• Prince ("Purple House")
• Robert Randolph ("Purple Haze")
• Santana ("Spanish Castle Magic")
• Sounds of Blackness ("Castles Made of Sand")
• Sting ("The Wind Cries Mary")
• Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble ("Little Wing/3rd Stone From The Sun" (live)).

A special CD single comprised of three tracks -- "Foxey Lady" (Cee Lo Green) and "Spanish Castle Magic" (Carlos Santana), coupled with a previously unreleased version of "Purple Haze" by Robert Randolph & The Slide Brothers recorded live at Atlanta's Fox Theater during last year's Experience Hendrix tour -- will also be available April 12 in conjunction with Record Store Day 2011 (Saturday, April 16).

Jimi will also be celebrated on Record Store Day with the limited edition 7" vinyl single that includes an unreleased alternate recording of "Fire" (taken from the West Coast Seattle Boy box set) coupled with "Touch You," a previously unreleased track recorded at London's Olympic Studios on December 20, 1967. The CD version of the single includes a third rare track, "Cat Talking To Me," recorded in June 1967.

Also due on April 12 is the Sony Legacy Edition of “South Saturn Delta,” a 1997 collection encompassing every incarnation of Jimi Hendrix's recording career -- including both versions of the Jimi Hendrix Experience, his expanded Woodstock ensemble Gypsy Sun & Rainbows, and the Band of Gypsys. The album brings together 15 distinct studio performances, 65 minutes of rare and previously unreleased music.

The Jimi Hendrix: Band of Gypsys (Live At Fillmore East) DVD includes an 83 minute documentary tracing the revolutionary impact Hendrix's Band Of Gypsys had on rock, R&B and funk. The story of this groundbreaking music is told in interviews with Jimi and, for the first time, all four of his band mates: Mitch Mitchell, Noel Redding, Billy Cox and Buddy Miles. Also contributing are Lenny Kravitz, Vernon Reid and Slash.

Jimi Hendrix: Band Of Gypsys (Live At Fillmore East) features the only known footage of the group in concert, including Jimi's stunning and devastating performance of "Machine Gun." In addition to the documentary footage, the new Legacy edition premieres exclusive bonus material not found on previous versions including black & white video footage as well as stereo and 5.1 surround sound mixes of the group's historic Fillmore East performance on New Year's Day 1970. The bonus footage includes a killer "Foxey Lady" and rarely performed live versions of "Power Of Soul," "Stepping Stone" and "Who Knows."

As if this wasn’t enough Jimi for ya in 2011, the Experience Hendrix Tour is gearing up for another run this year, with dates starting in May...more details on that to come.

Jimi Hendrix Jimi Hendrix

Jimi Hendrix and Band Of Gypsys – Power Of Soul
Fillmore East – New York, NY - January 1, 1970

See also:

Slash on Jimi Hendrix