Sunday, April 10, 2011

Black Sabbath: Born Again reissue due in May

Black Sabbath’s “Born Again” is born again on May 30.

Sabbath’s 1983 album gets the deluxe reissue treatment in a new 2-disc package.

“Born Again” was the only Sabbath album to feature vocalist Ian Gillan — who was, at the time, a solo artist and former singer for Deep Purple.

Gillan had first turned down the offer to join Sabbath, but his manager later convinced him to have a meeting with guitarist Tony Iommi and bassist Geezer Butler. The two Sabs met with Gillan at The Bear public house in Oxford, and Gillan officially joined the band in February 1983.

Released in October 1983, "Born Again" was a commercial success. It was the highest-charting Sabbath album in the United Kingdom since 1973’s "Sabbath Bloody Sabbath," and became an American Top 40 hit. Despite this, it became the first Sabbath release to not have any RIAA certification (gold or platinum) in the U.S.

Black Sabbath
"Born Again"

Release date: May 30 (UK) May 31 (international)

Disc 1:

01. Trashed
02. Stonehenge
03. Disturbing The Priest
04. The Dark
05. Zero The Hero
06. Digital Bitch
07. Born Again
08. Hot Line
09. Keep It Warm

Disc 2:

01. The Fallen (previously unreleased album session outtake)
02. Stonehenge (extended version)

Recorded live at the Reading Festival on Saturday, August 27, 1983
(BBC "Friday Rock Show" broadcast):

03. Hot Line
04. War Pigs
05. Black Sabbath
06. The Dark
07. Zero The Hero
08. Digital Bitch
09. Iron Man
10. Smoke On The Water
11. Paranoid

Black Sabbath Black Sabbath

Black Sabbath – Zero The Hero (1983)

See also:

WhoCares: Ian Gillan, Tony Iommi & Friends to release charity single
Heaven & Hell: Live From Radio City Music Hall on Blu-ray this May
Geezer Butler: No Black Sabbath reunion planned