Thursday, July 21, 2011

Bush return with new single

Bush are back in 2011 with a new song and new album.

“The Sound Of Winter” is the first single from the band’s upcoming September 13 release, “The Sea Of Memories.”

The Gavin Rossdale-led band worked with producer Bob Rock on the new project, the group’s first album in 10 years; it will be released on Bush’s own Zuma Rock records label through eOne Music.

Bush had great success in the mid-90s with their debut, “Sixteen Stone,” which featured North American hits like “Everything Zen,” “Comedown” and “Glycerine.” Comparisons to Nirvana were inevitable, especially since the Seattle band dominated the sound of the era and Bush fell, sonically, in line behind them. Three more albums followed, each garnering less attention than the last, and the band called it a day in 2002.

Rossdale takes another shot with “The Sea Of Memories,” and he isn’t looking back.

"When making music, you have a choice to repeat what you've done or move on," Gavin tells Billboard. "It would've been safe to just rework 'Sixteen Stone' over and over, but what kind of life would that be? When you're driving down the road, you're focused on what's in front of you; you don't really think to keep checking in your rear view mirror. I like the idea of changing, developing and morphing."

Bush are spending the summer reintroducing themselves to music fans across the US, playing club shows and radio station-sponsored gigs while finalizing plans for a fall tour.

Bush Bush

Bush – The Sound Of Winter (2011)