Friday, September 2, 2011

Black Country Communion: Live Over Europe DVD details

Black Country Communion had a busy spring, playing shows in support of their sophomore release, “2.”

The supergroup – comprised of bassist/vocalist Glenn Hughes (Deep Purple, Trapeze, Black Sabbath), blues rock guitarist/vocalist Joe Bonamassa, drummer Jason Bonham (Led Zeppelin), and keyboardist Derek Sherinian (Dream Theater) – played a month of live shows in the States throughout June before a 6-week run of gigs across Europe.

BCC fans will get to check out the results first-hand on October 24 with the release of the band’s first concert DVD, "Live Over Europe" (Blu-ray to follow November 15).

The 2-DVD live set was filmed with 14 HD cameras and 5.1 surround sound during the band’s debut tour in the summer of 2011. Over three nights, playing to packed venues in the German cities of Hamburg, Munich and Berlin, the 18-song set list (17 originals and 1 cover) hits on both of BCC’s albums – 2010’s debut and 2011’s sophomore release. Bonus features include an exclusive 28-page collector’s booklet and DVD with a 20-minute “behind the scenes” featurette and photo collection.

“We saw that this live act could be an awesome force of nature to behold; one that promised legendary performances like those of our heroes of Classic Rock,” said producer Kevin Shirley. “The plan was to get them out there for the entire world to hear. Records allow a certain musical finesse, but live performance promises so much in the very transient nature of a gig; chances are taken, boundaries are crossed and the most exciting performances explode. Two studio albums built a repertoire big enough for a full concert which allowed us to unleash the monster for all the world to see and feel."

Black Country Communion
"Live Over Europe" DVD
Release date: October 24, 2011

01. Revolution of the Machine
02. Black Country
03. One Last Soul
04. Crossfire
05. Save Me
06. The Battle For Hadrian's Wall
07. Beggarman
08. Faithless
09. Song of Yesterday
10. I Can See Your Spirit
11. Cold
12. The Ballad of John Henry
13. The Outsider
14. The Great Divide
15. Sista Jane
16. Man In The Middle
17. Burn
18. Smokestack Woman

Bonus Features

* Forging BCC - The Making of "Live Over Europe"
* Photo Collection - Live On Tour
* Photo Collection - Behind The Scenes

Black Country Communion – Live Over Europe – trailer (2011)

Black Country Communion Black Country Communion

Black Country Communion – Crossfire
High Voltage Festival
Victoria Park – London, UK – July 24, 2011

See also:

VIDEO: Glenn Hughes explains the origins of Black Country Communion
Black Country Communion filming shows for DVD release
VIDEO: Black Country Communion – Man In The Middle
Deep Purple: Glenn Hughes launches autobiography in London
VIDEO: Glenn Hughes performs new Black Country Communion song
Black Country Communion: New album due in June
Black Country Communion announce US dates