Thursday, October 20, 2011

AUDIO: Rolling Stones to issue unreleased Some Girls track today

We’ll be getting a taste of some new old Rolling Stones material today, when the band officially issues an unreleased track from the upcoming, expanded “Some Girls” rerelease.

The 1978 album is getting the reissue treatment with its November 21st street date, but on Thursday, Stones fans will be able to get their hands on “No Spare Parts,” one of the tracks from the original sessions.

First recorded by Chris Kimsey in early 1978, the song is an unreleased track recently discovered by producer Don Was for inclusion on the deluxe and super-deluxe editions of "Some Girls."

“No Spare Parts” captures the daring and diverse spirit of the album’s legendary sessions. Recorded in Paris, the song tells the story of a trip from Los Angeles to San Antonio, TX featuring Mick Jagger on electric piano, Keith Richards on acoustic piano, Ron Wood on pedal steel guitar, Charlie Watts on drums and Bill Wyman on bass.

The new version of the song made its debut on BBC Radio 2 early Thursday, but the official version hasn’t surfaced as of press time – however, a bootleg version has been floating around online for years - so we’ll offer a first taste of that until the band makes it official and releases it via regular outlets later today.

The updated version is expected to have re-recorded vocals by Mick Jagger – so this earlier version may not deliver that….we’ll provide an update with the new version when it surfaces.

Rolling Stones
Some Girls reissue

Release date: November 21, 2011

Disc 1
01. Miss You
02. When The Whip Comes Down
03. Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)
04. Some Girls
05. Lies
06. Far Away Eyes
07. Respectable
08. Before They Make Me Run
09. Beast of Burden
10. Shattered

Disc 2
01. Claudine
02. So Young
03. Do You Think I Really Care
04. When You’re Gone
05. No Spare Parts
06. Don’t Be A Stranger
07. We Had It All
08. Tallahassee Lassie
09. I Love You Too Much
10. Keep Up Blues
11. You Win Again
12. Petrol Blues

The The Rolling Stones

Rolling Stones – No Spare Parts (1978)
Bootleg version

See also:

Rolling Stones to reissue Some Girls this fall
Rolling Stones: Ed Sullivan shows coming to DVD
Keith Richards: Life sells a million
VIDEO: Mick Jagger’s SuperHeavy – Miracle Worker
SuperHeavy: Mick Jagger supergroup to release debut in September
Mick Jagger forms supergroup
Rolling Stones: Ronnie Wood wins U.K. radio award
Rolling Stones: Ron Wood working with Tommy Hilfiger?
Mick Jagger’s daughter, Elizabeth, tops the hennemusic Hot 10
Rolling Stones: Mick Jagger’s daughter bares all for Playboy
Keith Richards’ daughter swings plea deal in graffiti/drug case
Rolling Stones: Keith Richards’ daughter arrested in NYC