Monday, October 17, 2011

The Who reissue Quadrophenia next month

The Who are reissuing their 1973 classic, “Quadrophenia,” next month, in various formats including a “Quadrophenia: The Director’s Cut” boxset, on November 14th (UK) and November 15th (US).

Considered by Pete Townshend himself to be the Who album that he is most proud of, "Quadrophenia" is the last album in the Who back catalogue to be given the deluxe treatment. See the full track listing below.

Based around the story of Jimmy – Quadrophenia tells the tale of a young mod and his struggle to come of age in the mid-1960s. The story also takes its influence from the band's early fans from the original mod era, and its themes of teenage angst and disaffection still resonate today.

"The time has come for me and my team to honor 'Quadrophenia' with a carefully presented package that features examples of the impact surround sound (quadrophonic) would have on the music, to remaster the vinyl mixes, and to collect and restore my demos,” says Townshend. “I am also going to try to shed some light on the way 'Quadrophenia' came about, and how it was inspired by events in my life in 1970 and 1971, when I scribbled or typed the very first notes and lyrics for some of the songs that made it onto the final record.”

The Who are teaming up with Liam Gallagher’s clothing label Pretty Green and Vespa to celebrate and mark the release. Pretty Green have designed a limited-edition parka made legendary by London mod 'Jimmy’ on the cover of The Who’s seminal album and will also showcase Townshend’s archives of notes, desk diaries, photos and original lyrics from the making of Quadrophenia alongside album artwork and outtakes in a never-been-seen-before exhibition.

“As I’m a massive fan of The Who, and Quadrophenia being one of my favourite albums of all time, it’s an honor to be associated,” said Gallagher.

The UK exhibition will take place in the Pretty Green flagship store in London’s Carnaby Street, and opens October 27 – it runs until January 31, 2012.

To honor the album and its contribution to mod culture, legendary scooter company Vespa has also joined forces with The Who to build a stunning replica Quadrophenia scooter, based on the new PX125. MODifications include whitewall tyres, one-off retro graphics, chrome kit, screen, mod-style extra mirrors & even a faux fur-covered seat.

The Who are giving one of the Vespa scooters away - to enter, visit The Who’s Facebook page here.

The super-deluxe limited edition box set will feature the following exclusive content:

Discs one and two – the original double album – 2011 remaster
Discs three and four – 25 demo tracks from Pete Townshend's studio archive giving a unique insight into the original vision for this remarkable body of work. Includes songs that were not included on the original album.
Disc five - 'The Quadrophenia 5.1 EP' - exclusive eight track DVD re-mixed for surround sound.
• Deluxe 100-page, hard-back book featuring a brand new 13,000 word essay by Pete Townshend, shedding exclusive light on the period before and during the creation of the album, explaining some of the technical processes – the startling and progressive use of synthesizers, as well as a revealing insight into the story of the album's central character - the mod Jimmy.
• Also features Pete's in depth, track-by-track guide to the demos and revealing studio diary.
• The stunning book also includes a treasure trove of previously unseen personal notes, photographs, handwritten lyrics and memorabilia from the period, all recently uncovered in Pete's archive.
• The package also replicates the striking black and white imagery from the original vinyl LP photography, and adds never-seen colour out-takes of the famous cover shot.
• A replica 7" vinyl single featuring hit single '5.15' b/w 'Water' in a picture sleeve.
• Set of six facsimile memorabilia 'inserts' housed in a card envelope.
• Limited edition, housed in a hard-back deluxe slip-case.

Other formats will also be available…

• Double vinyl
• Mini-deluxe digi-pak edition
• Digital

“Quadrophenia: The Director’s Cut” boxset – Super Deluxe Edition

Original album – 2011 Remaster

Disc One:
01. I Am The Sea
02. The Real Me
03. Quadrophenia
04. Cut My Hair
05. The Punk And The Godfather
06. I'm One
07. The Dirty Jobs
08. Helpless Dancer
09. Is It In My Head?
10. I've Had Enough

Disc Two:
01. 5:15
02. Sea And Sand
03. Drowned
04. Bell Boy
05. Doctor Jimmy
06. The Rock
07. Love Reign O'er Me

Disc three – the demos
01. The Real Me (demo)
02. Quadrophenia – Four Overtures (demo)
03. Cut My Hair (demo)
04. Fill No. 1 - Get Out and Stay Out (demo)
05. Quadrophenic - Four Faces (demo)
006. We Close Tonight (demo)
07. You Came Back (demo)
08. Get Inside (demo)
09. Joker James (demo)
10. Punk (demo)
11. I'm One (demo)
12. Dirty Jobs (demo)
13. Helpless Dancer (demo)

Disc four – the demos
01. Is It In My Head (demo)
02. Any More (demo)
03. I've Had Enough (demo)
04. Fill No. 2 (demo)
05. Wizardry (demo)
06. Sea & Sand (demo)
07. Drowned (demo)
08. Is It Me (demo)
09. Bell Boy (demo)
10. Dr Jimmy (demo)
11. Finale-The Rock (demo)
12. Love Reign O'er Me (demo)

Disc five - DVD - 5.1 surround-sound mix
01. I Am The Sea
02. The Real Me
03. Quadrophenia
04. I've Had Enough
05. 5.15
06. Dr Jimmy
07. The Rock
08. Love Reign O'er Me

7" single
Side one: 5.15
Side two: Water

The Who The Who

The Who – The Real Me
Opening scene – Quadrophenia film(1979)

The Who – 5:15
Quadrophenia film(1979)

See also:

Pete Townshend, Bob Seger among 2012 Songwriters Hall nominees
VIDEO: Roger Daltrey rocks Who classic on The Tonight Show
The Who: Pete Townshend writing autobiography
The Who: Roger Daltrey bringing Tommy to North America
VIDEO: Foo Fighters & Roger Daltrey rock NME Awards
Roger Daltrey to perform The Who’s “Tommy” at Teenage Cancer Trust
Super Bowl Flashback: The Who (2010)
VIDEO: The Who headline Killing Cancer benefit
The Who: Roger Daltrey reveals cancer scare