Friday, January 11, 2013

Ryan Adams covers Iron Maiden on Californication compilation

"Music From The Showtime Series Californication Season 6" will be released on January 15.

The collection features a previously unreleased track from Australian musician/actor/comedian and guest star Tim Minchin, titled "So Long (As We Are Together)", which is performed in character as the mad-as-a-hatter Atticus Fetch. The album also features tracks from Steve Jones (Sex Pistols) and Marilyn Manson, both of whom have guest starring roles in the show this season. The album also features music by Ryan Adams, Joe Walsh, Johnny Thunders and more.

Season 6 of "Californication" debuts on Sunday, January 13 at 10:30 p.m. EST on Showtime.

The Showtime original series "Californication" takes viewers on a wild, witty and sexy ride in the California fast lane. It centers around Hank Moody (series star and executive producer David Duchovny), as a hedonistic novelist who struggles to be a good father to his college-aged daughter, while still carrying a torch for her mother, his ex-girlfriend. "Californication" has won several awards, including two Emmy Awards in 2008 and 2009 for "Outstanding Cinematography" and one Golden Globe Award in 2008 for "Best Actor" (Duchovny).

Check out Ryan Adams’ acoustic cover of Iron Maiden’s “Wasted Years” here.

Sample tracks from the full album here.

Various Artists
"Music From The Showtime Series Californication Season 6"

Release date: January 15

01. STEVE JONES - "Suffragette City" (DAVID BOWIE cover)
02. MARILYN MANSON - "Personal Jesus" (DEPECHE MODE cover)
03. THE BLIND PETS - "Fever"
04. JOHNNY THUNDERS - "You Can't Put Your Arms Round a Memory"
05. LISSIE - "Nothing Else Matters" (METALLICA cover)
06. RYAN ADAMS - "Wasted Years" (IRON MAIDEN cover)
07. WARREN ZEVON - "For My Next Trick, I'll Need a Volunteer"
08. TIM MINCHIN - "So Long" (As We Are Together)
09. HI HO SILVER OH ft. Leslie Stevens - "Time To Move On" (TOM PETTY cover)
10. JOE WALSH - "Funk 50"
11. THE LITTER - "Action Woman"
12. MARK LANEGAN - "Strange Religion"
13. THE SOUNDTRACK OF OUR LIVES - "What's Your Story"
14. BETH HART - "My California"

See also:

VIDEO: Ryan Adams unplugs for Dio’s Holy Diver
AUDIO: Ryan Adams strips down Ratt’s 'Round And Round'
VIDEO: Ryan Adams – Live On Letterman webcast
Iron Maiden covered by Ryan Adams