Friday, March 21, 2014

Jason Bonham and Glenn Hughes launch California Breed

Jason Bonham and Glenn Hughes have launched a new band, California Breed, from the ashes of supergroup Black Country Communion.

The pair are joined by guitarist Andrew Watt for the new project, which will release its self-titled debut album on May 20.

Hughes was introduced to Watt through his friend Julian Lennon.

"It's proper rock," says Hughes, "but at the same time it's very now. Andrew is as influenced by Mick Ronson as he is Jimmy Page."

"This kid is amazing," adds Bonham. "The first time we met, I thought he looked like the white Jimi Hendrix. And he plays in the studio like he's on stage!"

Produced by Dave Cobb (Jamey Johnson, Rival Sons, Shooter Jennings), “California Breed” was recorded at Cobb's Nashville studio and features equal co-writing credits among the three-man lineup.

California Breed have just released the video for the lead single, “Sweet Tea.”

Formed in 2009, Black Country Communion – which also featured Joe Bonamassa and Derek Sherinian – shut things down early last year after releasing three studio albums and a live recording.

California Breed
“California Breed”

Release date: May 20

01. The Way
02. Sweet Tea
03. Chemical Rain
04. Midnight Oil
05. All Falls Down
06. The Grey
07. Days They Come
08. Spit You Out
09. Strong
10. Invisible
11. Scars
12. Breathe
13. Solo

See also:

Black Country Communion officially over, says bassist
Glenn Hughes announces Australian tour
Joe Bonamassa says he’s done with Black Country Communion
VIDEO: Black Country Communion – Making of Afterglow part 6
Search Jason Bonham at hennemusic
Search Glenn Hughes at hennemusic
Search Black Country Communion at hennemusic