Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Keith Richards covers Bob Marley for Playing For Change charity release

Rolling Stones guitarist Keith Richards teams up with musicians from around the world to cover a Bob Marley classic for a new release in support of the arts and music charity Playing For Change.

Richards is joined by Keb’ Mo’, Mermans Mosengo (PFC Band), Sherieta Lewis from Kingston, Jamaica and Natalie of Blue King Brown (Australia) for a mix of “Words Of Wonder” (from his 1992 album, “Main Offender”) and the Marley classic, “Get Up Stand Up”

The performance will be featured on Playing For Change’s third CD / DVD set, Playing For Change 3 “Songs Around The World,” which will be released on June 17th, 2014.

The CD/DVD will be available both digitally and physically at all major retailers and via Starbucks in North America, and includes performances from Andres Calamaro, Keith Richards, Keb Mo, Los Lobos, Preservation Hall Jazz Band, Sara Bareilles, Taj Mahal, Toots Hibbert from Toots & The Maytals, in addition to a song produced by Jackson Browne.

You can pre-order the record now via and receive a free download of “Words of Wonder / Get Up Stand Up” and “Clandestino” featuring Manu Chao.

Since the organization formed in 2005, Playing For Change has formed the PFC Band who have toured throughout 4 continents for over 150 performances, as well as the PFC Foundation and their annual global day of music and action: Playing For Change Day. Through these various initiatives, the foundation has served over 700 children in nine music schools and programs in countries including South Africa, Ghana, Mali, Rwanda, Nepal and Thailand.

For more information on Playing For Change, visit

Keith and the Rolling Stones will return to the road for a European tour that starts in Oslo, Norway on May 26.

Playing For Change 3
“Songs Around The World” Track listing

1. La Bamba (feat. Los Lobos and Andres Calamaro)

2. Words Of Wonder (feat. Keith Richards, Titi Tsira (PFC Band), Roberto Luti (PFC Band), and Aztec Indians)

3. Get Up Stand Up (feat. Keith Richards, Keb’ Mo’, Mermans Mosengo (PFC Band), Sherieta Lewis from Kingston, Jamaica and Natalie of Blue King Brown (Australia))

4. Reggae Got Soul: (feat. Toots Hibbert (Toots and the Maytals), Taj Mahal and Ernest Ranglin)

5. Down By The Riverside: (feat. New Orleans street performing Legend Grandpa Elliott (PFC Band / Stand By Me Video), Keb’ Mo’, and the Preservation Hall Jazz Band)

6. A Better Place – (feat. the PFC Band and Glen David Andrews)

7. What’s Going On – (feat. Sara Bareilles, Clarence Bekker (PFC Band) and Titi Tsira (PFC Band))

8. Guantanamera – (feat. Carlos Varella and Manuel Galban)

See also:

The Rolling Stones top the hennemusic Hot 10
Rolling Stones confirm rescheduled Australian and New Zealand shows
Rolling Stones release Postcard From Asia video
Rolling Stones reschedule Australian and New Zealand shows
Search Rolling Stones at hennemusic