Wednesday, May 21, 2014

ZZ Top to release new greatest hits package

ZZ Top will release a new greatest hits package, “The Very Baddest Of ZZ Top”, on July 22.

Available as standard and double-disc sets, the compilation features material from the band’s entire catalog, marking the first time that’s happened in a single project.

ZZ Top recorded for three different labels throughout the years, including London Records (1971-76), Warner Brothers Records (1979-1990), and RCA Records (1994-2003); their latest release, 2012’s “La Futura”, was issued by American Recordings.

“We’re glad that material originally issued by three different labels over the course of all these years will now be housed under one ‘roof,’ so to speak,” said guitarist Billy Gibbons. “It’s kind of a big, bad family reunion on some level.”

ZZ Top launch a European tour in Bergen, Norway on June 11 before playing US dates starting in late July.

ZZ Top
“The Very Baddest of ZZ Top”

Release date: July 22

Single Disc

01. ‘Gimme All Your Lovin” – Single Version
02. ‘Sharp Dressed Man’ – Single Version
03. ‘La Grange’
04. ‘Tush’
05. ‘Doubleback’
06. ‘I Thank You’ – Single Version
07. ‘Cheap Sunglasses’ – Single Version
08. ‘Legs’ – Single Version
09. ‘Tube Snake Boogie’
10. ‘Waitin’ For The Bus’
11. ‘Jesus Just Left Chicago’
12. ‘I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide’
13. ‘Pincushion’
14. ‘Got Me Under Pressure’
15. ‘Rough Boy’ – Single Version
16. ‘Velcro Fly’ – Single Version
17. ‘Rhythmeen’
18. ‘What’s Up With That?’
19. ‘Mescalero’
20. ‘Viva Las Vegas’ – Single Version

Double Disc Version

Disc One

01. ‘Gimme All Your Lovin” – Single Version
02. ‘Sharp Dressed Man’ – Single Version
03. ‘La Grange’
04. ‘Tush’
05. ‘(Somebody Else Been) Shaking Your Tree’
06. ‘Francine’
07. ‘Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers’
08. ‘It’s Only Love’
09. ‘Arrested For Driving While Blind’
10. ‘I Thank You’ – Single Version
11. ‘Cheap Sunglasses’ – Single Version
12. ‘Tube Snake Boogie’
13. ‘Pearl Necklace’
14. ‘Just Got Paid’
15. ‘Waitin’ For The Bus’
16. ‘Jesus Just Left Chicago’
17. ‘Heard It On The X’
18. ‘I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide’
19. ‘Dust My Broom’
20. ‘Velcro Fly’ – Single Version
21. ‘Party On The Patio’

Disc Two

01. ‘Viva Las Vegas’ – Single Version
02. ‘Pincushion’
03. ‘Legs’ – Single Version
04. ‘Got Me Under Pressure’
05. ‘Sleeping Bag’
06. ‘Rough Boy’ – Single Version
07. ‘Doubleback’
08. ‘My Head’s In Mississippi’
09. ‘Give It Up’
10. ‘Just Got Back From Baby’s’
11. ‘Blue Jean Blues’
12. ‘She’s Just Killing Me’
13. ‘What’s Up With That?’
14. ‘Rhythmeen’
15. ‘Loaded’
16. ‘Fearless Boogie’
17. ‘Mescalero’
18. ‘Que Lastima’
19. ‘As Time Goes By’

See also:

ZZ Top and Jeff Beck announce summer tour
ZZ Top guitarist launches new Les Paul signature guitar
ZZ Top announce Western Canadian tour
Search ZZ Top at hennemusic