Monday, August 11, 2014

VIDEO: Eric Clapton discusses J.J. Cale tribute album

Eric Clapton with J.J. Cale

Eric Clapton sits down with music journalist Dan Forte for an extended video interview to discuss the making of the newly-released tribute album, "The Breeze (An Appreciation of J.J. Cale)."

Clapton spearheaded the project to honor one of his musical mentors.

The set features a collection of 16 Cale tunes revisited by Clapton, Mark Knopfler, Don White, John Mayer, Willie Nelson, Tom Petty and Derek Trucks.

Cale passed away from a heart attack in La Jolla, California on July 26, 2013 at the age of 74 (read more details here).

Eric Clapton & Friends
“The Breeze, An Appreciation of JJ Cale”

01. Call Me The Breeze (Eric Clapton)
02. Rock And Roll Records (Eric Clapton & Tom Petty)
03. Someday (Mark Knopfler)
04. Lies (John Mayer & Eric Clapton)
05. Sensitive Kind (Don White)
06. Cajun Moon (Eric Clapton)
07. Magnolia (John Mayer)
08. I Got The Same Old Blues (Tom Petty & Eric Clapton)
09. Songbird (Willie Nelson & Eric Clapton)
10. Since You Said Goodbye (Eric Clapton)
11. I’ll Be There (If You Ever Want Me) (Don White & Eric Clapton)
12. The Old Man And Me (Tom Petty)
13. Train To Nowhere (Mark Knopfler, Don White & Eric Clapton)
14. Starbound (Willie Nelson)
15. Don’t Wait (Eric Clapton & John Mayer)
16. Crying Eyes (Eric Clapton & Christine Lakeland)

See also:

Eric Clapton to release 2014 tour film Planes, Trains And Eric
J.J. Cale to be inducted into the Oklahoma Music Hall Of Fame
Eric Clapton premieres Train To Nowhere from J.J. Cale tribute album
Eric Clapton premieres third song from J.J. Cale tribute album
Search Eric Clapton at hennemusic