Wednesday, September 3, 2014

AUDIO: ZZ Top guitarist joins Johnny Winter on new album

ZZ Top guitarist Billy Gibbons joins Johnny Winter on “Where Can You Be”, a track from the late blues legend’s newly-released album, “Step Back.”

“When Johnny picks up a guitar,” says Gibbons, “you never know quite what’s gonna come at you but whatever it is, it’s gonna be good!”

Produced by Paul Nelson, “Step Back” was completed shortly before Winter died on July 16 in his hotel room in Zurich, Switzerland while on tour in Europe at the age of 70.

The 13-song collection also includes contributions from Eric Clapton, Brian Setzer, Joe Bonamassa, Leslie West and others.

Winter will be the focus of an all-star tribute concert at B.B. King’s in New York City on October 10; details regarding the guest lineup will be announced soon.

Hear Joe Perry of Aerosmith perform with Winter on “Mojo Hand” here.

Johnny Winter
“Step Back”

01. ‘Unchain My Heart’
02. ‘Can’t Hold Out (Talk To Me Baby)’ — with Ben Harper
03. ‘Don’t Want No Woman — with Eric Clapton
04. ‘Killing Floor’ — with Paul Nelson
05. ‘Who Do You Love’
06. ‘Okie Dokie Stomp’ — with Brian Setzer
07. ‘Where Can You Be’ — with Billy Gibbons
08. ‘Sweet Sixteen’ — with Joe Bonamassa
09. ‘Death Letter’
10. ‘My Babe’ — with Jason Ricci
11. ‘Long Tall Sally’ – Leslie West
12. ‘Mojo Hand’ — with Joe Perry
13. ‘Blue Monday’ — with Dr. John

See also:

AUDIO: Johnny Winter premieres new song with Aerosmith’s Joe Perry
Blues legend Johnny Winter dead at 70