Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Whitesnake premiere Burn from The Purple Album

Whitesnake are streaming audio of the classic Deep Purple track, “Burn”, as a preview of their upcoming May 19 release, “The Purple Album.”

The tune follows the video for the project’s lead track, "Stormbringer."

The group’s 12th album sees frontman David Coverdale re-recording classic songs from the Deep Purple’s Mark 3 and Mark 4 records he appeared on: “Burn” (1974), “Stormbringer” (1974) and “Come Taste The Band” (1975).

“It’s a tribute. A homage,” explains Coverdale. “It’s a huge thank you from me to Deep Purple for the opportunity I was given over 40 years ago. As I said to Ritchie, you guys set me on an incredible journey that continues today and I couldn’t have asked for better teachers.”

Whitesnake recently announced the first series of dates for a North American tour in support of the project, with shows set to begin May 28 in Airway Heights, Washington.

In addition to Coverdale, Whitesnake’s current lineup includes guitarists Reb Beach and Joel Hoekstra, bassist Michael Devin and drummer Tommy Aldridge.

“The Purple Album”

Release date: May 19

01. Burn
02. You Fool No One (interpolating Itchy Fingers)
03. Love Child
04. Sail Away
05. The Gypsy
06. Lady Double Dealer
07. Mistreated
08. Holy Man
09. Might Just Take Your Life
10. You Keep On Moving
11. Soldier Of Fortune
12. Lay Down Stay Down
13. Stormbringer

Deluxe edition bonus tracks

14. Lady Luck
15. Comin' Home

DVD content

* "Lady Double Dealer" - Music Video
* "Sail Away" - Mix Music Video
* "Stormbringer" - Music Video
* "Soldier Of Fortune" - Music Video
* "The Purple Album" Behind The Scenes
* "The Purple Album" EPK

See also:

VIDEO: Whitesnake preview The Purple Album
Whitesnake announce North American tour
Whitesnake singer revisits Deep Purple with The Purple Album
VIDEO: Whitesnake tease upcoming announcement
Search Whitesnake at hennemusic