Sunday, April 26, 2015

Black Sabbath: Bill Ward releases first solo album in 18 years

Black Sabbath drummer Bill Ward has released “Accountable Beasts”, his first solo album in 18 years.

Available now via iTunes, the project includes longtime Bill Ward Band members Keith Lynch (guitar, keyboards), bassist Paul Ill and drummer Ronnie Ciago, with contributions by drummer Walter Earl and an array of session singers including Ward’s daughter, Emily.

Ward’s drumming can be heard on seven of the album’s nine tracks.

Asked how “Accountable Beasts” compares to his previous solo outings, including 1997’s “When The Bough Breaks”, Ward tells music writer and author Joel Gausten, “It's much tougher; it kicks harder. Most of the stuff is pretty heavy on it. It's very current lyrically. I don't intend to be current with anything; I just write the music and allow it to just be whatever it is. But when I listened to it in hindsight - we did the final mastering on January 6th of this year - I thought, 'Oh my God! A lot of the stuff we're writing about is on TV every day.

“Most of the album is about religion; most of it's about war. It's the stuff that makes the world turn 'round every day. It's about people's souls being ripped to pieces. I guess it could be called morbid, but at the same time I'm also hoping it can be called energizing and respectful lyrically. I've worked really hard on trying to produce something that would mean something to the listener who's drawn in by the music.”

Ward recently had a controversial public exchange with Ozzy Osbourne over year-old-plus remarks by the singer that suggested the drummer was not physically fit enough to participate in Black Sabbath’s 2013 album “13” and its accompanying world tour.

“Well, I know I didn’t expect you to respond to my request of an apology,” wrote Ward, who challenged the motives and actions by Osbourne and the band relating to his participation in “13” rehearsals without making a commitment to the drummer.

“Stay safe old friend,” he added. “Sad we couldn’t roll it out for the fans one more time.”

Bill Ward
“Accountable Beasts”

01. Leaf Killers
02. Accountable Beasts
03. Katastrophic World
04. D.O.T.H.
05. First Day Back
06. As It Is In Heaven
07. Ashes
08. Straws
09. The Wall Of Death

See also:

Black Sabbath feud heats up
Ozzy Osbourne refuses to apologize to Black Sabbath drummer
Black Sabbath drummer demands apology from Ozzy Osbourne
Black Sabbath guitarist issues update following Ozzfest Japan cancellation
BREAKING NEWS: Black Sabbath cancel farewell concert in Japan
Search Ozzy Osbourne at hennemusic