Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Alice Cooper announces Hollywood Vampires live dates

Alice Cooper has announced three live dates for his all-star covers project, Hollywood Vampires.

Set to release their delf-titled debut album on September 11, the project led by the trio of Cooper, Aerosmith’s Joe Perry, and Johnny Depp will be rounded out in concert by bassist Duff McKagan, drummer Matt Sorum, guitarist Tommy Henriksen and pianist/guitarist Bruce Witkin.

Hollywood Vampires will perform two shows at The Roxy in Los Angeles on September 16 and 17 and play Brazil’s Rock In Rio on September 24.

Tickets for the Roxy shows will go on sale August 14 via Ticketfly.

Prior to the Rock In Rio performance, the band will partner with the Starkey Hearing Foundation – an organization that has provided more than 1.8 million free hearing aids to people in need in more than 100 countries – to offer and fit hearing aids to more than 150 people in need. After the fittings, the Hollywood Vampires and Starkey Hearing Foundation will bring a number of the guests to the show so they can hear music for the first time in their lives.

“Hearing connects us to life, our families and to the world around us,” says Starkey hearing Foundation founder Bill Austin. “It’s a precious gift, and we are excited to work with the Hollywood Vampires to introduce so many to the world of sound and help them hear music for the first time.”

Conceived by Cooper, the Hollywood Vampires project celebrates the spirit of the original drinking club of the same name that gathered at the upstairs bar of the Rainbow Bar & Grill on Sunset Strip, Los Angeles from 1972, of which Cooper was a founding member. Attendees would include high-profile musicians like John Lennon, Harry Nilsson, Keith Moon, Bernie Taupin, Jim Morrison and Mickey Dolenz.

The album, which presents covers of classic tunes by T. Rex, Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin, The Who, The Doors and more, sees contributions from an all-star lineup that includes Sir Paul McCartney, Perry Farrell, Dave Grohl, Joe Walsh, Slash, Robbie Krieger, Zak Starkey, Brian Johnson and Kip Winger.

All artist proceeds from the album will be donated to MusiCares.

Alice Cooper
“Hollywood Vampires”

Release date: September 11

01. The Last Vampire
02. Raise The Dead
03. My Generation
04. Whole Lotta Love
05. I Got A Line
06. Five To One/Break On Through
07. One/Jump Into The Fire
08. Come And Get It
09. Jeepster
10. Cold Turkey
11. Manic Depression
12. Itchycoo Park
13. School's Out/Another Brick In The Wall Pt. 2
14. Dead Drunk Friends

See also:

Alice Cooper unveils all-star Hollywood Vampires album
VIDEO: Michael Monroe performs with Alice Cooper in Helsinki
Alice Cooper 15 CD box set announced
Alice Cooper raves about Motley Crue
Search Alice Cooper at hennemusic