Wednesday, August 26, 2015

AUDIO: Alice Cooper’s Hollywood Vampires cover Who classic

Alice Cooper’s supergroup, Hollywood Vampires, are previewing the September 11 release of their self-titled debut album with a cover of The Who classic, “My Generation.”

The trio of Cooper, Aerosmith’s Joe Perry and Johnny Depp organized the project, which presents covers of classic tunes by T. Rex, Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin, The Doors and more with contributions from an all-star lineup that includes Sir Paul McCartney, Perry Farrell, Dave Grohl, Joe Walsh, Slash, Robbie Krieger, Zak Starkey, Brian Johnson and Kip Winger.

All artist proceeds from the album will be donated to MusiCares.

Conceived by Cooper, the Hollywood Vampires project celebrates the spirit of the original drinking club of the same name that gathered at the upstairs bar of the Rainbow Bar & Grill on Sunset Strip, Los Angeles from 1972, of which Cooper was a founding member. Attendees would include high profile musicians like John Lennon, Harry Nilsson, Keith Moon, Bernie Taupin, Jim Morrison and Mickey Dolenz.

The Hollywood Vampires have announced three live dates, including two shows at The Roxy in Los Angeles on September 16 and 17 and Brazil’s Rock In Rio on September 24.

Cooper, Perry and Depp will be rounded out in concert by bassist Duff McKagan, drummer Matt Sorum, guitarist Tommy Henriksen and pianist/guitarist Bruce Witkin.

Alice Cooper
“Hollywood Vampires”

Release date: September 11

01. The Last Vampire
02. Raise The Dead
03. My Generation
04. Whole Lotta Love
05. I Got A Line
06. Five To One/Break On Through
07. One/Jump Into The Fire
08. Come And Get It
09. Jeepster
10. Cold Turkey
11. Manic Depression
12. Itchycoo Park
13. School's Out/Another Brick In The Wall Pt. 2
14. Dead Drunk Friends

See also:

Alice Cooper announces Hollywood Vampires live dates
Alice Cooper unveils all-star Hollywood Vampires album
VIDEO: Michael Monroe performs with Alice Cooper in Helsinki
Alice Cooper 15 CD box set announced
Search Alice Cooper at hennemusic