Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Jimi Hendrix concert film Electric Church to be released

Following its premiere on Showtime earlier this month, the concert film “Jimi Hendrix: Electric Church” will be released on DVD and Blu-ray on October 30.

The package presents an expended version of The Jimi Hendrix Experience's July 4, 1970 performance at the second Atlanta International Pop Festival with additional tunes not featured in the television broadcast, including “Red House” and "Freedom."

Directed by John McDermott, “Jimi Hendrix: Electric Church” focuses on Atlanta promoter Alex Cooley's efforts to organize the festival, as well as Hendrix and his band's role as the event's headliner.

The festival took place just 10 weeks before the guitar legend's death, and was Hendrix's largest headlining performance ever in the U.S., with an audience estimated at over 300,000.

The documentary also includes never-before-seen footage, plus interviews with Paul McCartney, Steve Winwood, The Black Crowes' Rich Robinson, Metallica's Kirk Hammett, and ex-Allman Brothers Band guitarist Derek Trucks, as well as Jimi Hendrix Experience bassist Billy Cox and late Experience drummer Mitch Mitchell.

The documentary also features bonus music video for "Room Full of Mirrors" that combines film footage and previously unseen photos of the performance.

Jimi Hendrix
“Jimi Hendrix: Electric Church”

Release date: October 30

01) Fire
02) Spanish Castle Magic
03) Red House*
04) Room Full Of Mirrors*
05) All Along the Watchtower
06) Freedom*
07) Foxey Lady
08) Purple Haze
09) Hey Joe
10) Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
11) Stone Free
12) Star Spangled Banner
13) Straight Ahead
*Not included in televised version

See also:

Jimi Hendrix line of marijuana products coming soon
Jimi Hendrix estate sues former brother in law over guitar
Jimi Hendrix Park to open this fall
Jimi Hendrix biopic All Is By My Side coming to DVD
Search Jimi Hendrix at hennemusic