Sunday, September 20, 2015

VIDEO: Queen and Adam Lambert open 30th anniversary of Rock In Rio

Queen and Adam Lambert headlined opening night of the 30th anniversary of the Rock In Rio festival in Brazil on September 18 and video from the event is available.

The group opened their 2-hour set with “One Vision” from 1986’s “A Kind Of Magic” and delivered one hit after another from one of rock’s deepest song catalogues. The show included covers of Lambert’s solo single, “Ghost Town”, and guitarist Brian May’s solo tune, “Last Horizon.”

“Rock In smashed it!,” tweeted the band. “WOW can you sing!”

Joining Queen on the event’s opening night bill were One Republic and The Script.

Queen’s appearance marked the band’s return after opening the inaugural event in 1985 with original lead singer Freddie Mercury.

The band’s opening night on January 11, 1985 at Rio’s custom built City of Rock exploded the record books, drawing an audience of over 250,000. The band’s second appearance on January 18 brought their total Rock in Rio audience beyond 500,000.

Televised to over 60 countries across the world, Queen’s 1985 performance were watched by nearly 200 million people. Queen albums occupied all top ten places in the Brazilian album chart and “Love Of My Life” became a new Brazilian anthem.

Queen + Adam Lambert
Rock In Rio
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil – September 18, 2015

01. One Vision
02. Stone Cold Crazy
03. Another One Bites The Dust
04. Fat Bottomed Girls
05. In The Lap Of the Gods... Revisited
06. Seven Seas Of Rhye
07. Killer Queen
08. Don't Stop Me Now
09. I Want To Break Free
10. Somebody To Love
11. Love Of My Life
12. A Kind Of Magic
13. Drum Battle
14. Under Pressure
15. Save Me
16. Ghost Town (Adam Lambert cover)
17. Who Wants To Live Forever
18. Guitar Solo
19. Last Horizon (Brian May cover)
20. The Show Must Go On
21. I Want It All
22. Radio Ga Ga
23. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
24. Bohemian Rhapsody


25. We Will Rock You
26. We Are The Champions

0924-15 UPDATE: The original video of the full show has been removed from YouTube for copyright reasons. In its place, we have added a few individual songs from the concert that are currently available online.

See also:

VIDEO: Led Zeppelin and Queen members join Foo Fighters at Milton Keynes
VIDEO: Queen preview Studio Collection vinyl box set
VIDEO: Queen preview Studio Collection vinyl box set
Queen to release Studio Collection vinyl box set
Search Queen at hennemusic