Thursday, December 17, 2015

Deep Purple, Cheap Trick among 2016 Rock Hall Of Fame inductees

Deep Purple and Cheap Trick are among the artists to be inducted into the 2016 Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame.

Joining the pair are Steve Miller, Chicago and N.W.A.

Deep Purple members set to be inducted include most of the Mk 1, II and III lineups: Ritchie Blackmore, Jon Lord, Ian Paice, Rod Evans, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, David Coverdale and Glenn Hughes.

Cheap Trick’s principal lineup of Rick Neilsen, Robin Zander, Tom Petersson and Bun E. Carlos will enter the Hall, while Carlos was removed from the band’s touring lineup in 2010 and replaced by Neilsen’s son Daxx.

Chicago topped the fan ballot for the event with more than 37 million votes – more than 11 million ahead of the next nominee – Yes – who failed to make the final cut.

To be eligible for nomination, an individual artist or band must have released its first single or album at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination.

The 31st Annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on Friday, April 8 at the Barclays Center in New York and will be broadcast by HBO in the spring.

Tickets will go on sale in February.

2016 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees

• Cheap Trick
• Chicago
• Deep Purple
• N.W.A.
• Steve Miller

See also:

Ritchie Blackmore hints at more Rainbow shows
Deep Purple to release The Vinyl Collection box set
Ritchie Blackmore releases first photo of 2016 Rainbow lineup
Deep Purple singer not a fan of the Rock Hall
Search Deep Purple at hennemusic