Wednesday, May 25, 2016

AUDIO: Cheap Trick drummer Bun E. Carlos previews solo album debut

Original Cheap Trick drummer Bun E. Carlos is previewing his upcoming solo album debut “Greetings From Bunezuela!” with the release of the lead single, “Do Something Real.”

The track features Guided By Voices singer Robert Pollard on vocals on a tune he originally issued in 1999.

Due June 24, “Greetings From Bunezuela!” presents 13 rockers - including 11 covers of songs originally done by The Rolling Stones, The Who, Bob Dylan, Them, the Bee Gees and more.

The project features a range of guest vocalists including Dave Pirner of Soul Asylum, original Cheap Trick singer Xeno, Hanson, Alejandro Escovedo and Wilco’s John Stirratt, among others.

Carlos and members of Cheap Trick were inducted into 2016 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame in April.

The drummer left Cheap Trick’s touring lineup in 2010 and was replaced by guitarist Rick Nielsen’s son Daxx.

Bun E. Carlos
“Greetings From Bunezuela!”

Release date: June 24

01 - “Do Something Real” ft. Robert Pollard (Robert Pollard)
02 - “Armenia City In The Sky” ft. John Stirratt (The Who)
03 - “Him Or Me” ft. Hanson (Paul Revere & The Raiders)
04 - “I Love You No More” ft. Alex Dezen (The Blackstones)
05 - “Tell Me” ft. Alejandro Escovedo (Rolling Stones)
06 - “It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry” ft. Dave Pirner (Bob Dylan)
07 - “Let The Mystery Be” ft. Xeno (Iris DeMent)
08 - “Idea” ft. Robert Pollard (Bee Gees)
09 - “Les Cactus” ft. Nicholas Tremulis (Jacques DuTronc)
10 - “I Can Only Give You Everything” ft. Rick Rizzo (Them)
11 - “Slow Down” ft. Alejandro Escovedo (Alejandro Escovedo)
12 - “Count On Me” ft. Xeno (Fra Lippo Lippi)
13 - “I Don't Mind” ft. Alex Dezen (Alex Dezen)

See also:

VIDEO: Cheap Trick inducted into 2016 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame
VIDEO: Cheap Trick perform on NBC’s Today Show
Cheap Trick to reunite with drummer for Rock Hall induction
VIDEO: Cheap Trick release new single When I Wake Up Tomorrow
Search Cheap Trick at hennemusic