Thursday, July 28, 2016

Deep Purple singer Ian Gillan to release vinyl collection package

Deep Purple frontman Ian Gillan will reissue five solo albums as “The Vinyl Collection 1979-1982” on September 23.

The package brings together five albums across seven LPs, including 1979's “Mr Universe”, 1980's “Glory Road” on 2LP with the bonus disc “For Gillan Fans Only”, 1981's “Future Shock”, 1981's “Double Trouble” on 2LP and 1982's “Magic.

All of the albums have been recreated as first pressing replicas on 180g heavyweight vinyl housed in a rigid slipcase.

The five records were originally issued during an era after Gillan had left Deep Purple in 1973 and before he joined Black Sabbath in 1982.

Gillan returned to Deep Purple in 1984 for a 25th anniversary tour and recorded two albums with the lineup that included the return of guitarist Ritchie Blackmore.

The singer exited the band again in 1989 and has remained Deep Purple’s frontman since his return in 1992.

The band are currently playing shows across Europe this summer.

See also:

Deep Purple to release DVD of Jon Lord farewell performance
Deep Purple reschedule Swedish shows as drummer recovers from stroke
VIDEO: Ritchie Blackmore returns to rock with Rainbow
Deep Purple drummer reveals mini-strokes forced show cancellations
Search Deep Purple at hennemusic
Search Rainbow at hennemusic