Thursday, August 18, 2016

Metallica announce new album and release video for Hardwired

Metallica will issue their new album “Hardwired…To Self Destruct” on November 18 and are previewing the set with the release of a video for the lead track “Hardwired.”

Produced by Greg Fidelman, James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich, the two-disc set features a dozen songs and more than 80 minutes of music.

“It really does exist!,” says the band. “Hardwired… represents the next phase of our journey as Metallica and we are so excited to share it with you.

“This is our 11th studio album and is available for pre-order in a variety of configurations including 12 songs on a double CD, vinyl, digital download, as well as a deluxe version with the riffs that were the origins of the album. Everyone who pre-orders the album through will receive an instant download of the song 'Hardwired.'”

The follow-up to 2008’s “Death Magnetic” has been in the works for about a year as Fidelman joined the band in the studio.

"The album's not actually finished," adds Ulrich. "It will be done in the next week or so."

“Hardwired…To Self Destruct” will be available in a variety of formats, including regular and deluxe CDs and vinyl alongside a digital release. The band will also release a box-set edition containing the deluxe versions of the CD, vinyl and digital as well as lithographs and LP-themed buttons.

This weekend, Metallica will stream their performance at the opening of the U.S. Bank Stadium in Minneapolis, MN on August 20 via Pandora and

A full tracklist for “Hardwired…To Self Destruct” can be found below the video.

“Hardwired…To Self Destruct”
Release date: November 18

Disc One

01. Hardwired
02. Atlas, Rise!
03. Now That We're Dead
04. Moth Into Flame
05. Am I Savage?
06. Halo On Fire

Disc Two

01. Confusion
02. Dream No More
03. ManUNkind
04. Here Comes Revenge
05. Murder One
06. Spit Out The Bone

Disc Three (Deluxe Edition Only)

01. Lords Of Summer
02. Riff Charge (Riff Origins)
03. N.W.O.B.H.M. A.T.M. (Riff Origins)
04. Tin Shot (Riff Origins)
05. Plow (Riff Origins)
06. Sawblade (Riff Origins)
07. RIP (Riff Origins)
08. Lima (Riff Origins)
09. 91 (Riff Origins)
10. MTO (Riff Origins)
11. RL72 (Riff Origins)
12. Frankenstein (Riff Origins)
13. CHI (Riff Origins)
14. X Dust (Riff Origins)

See also:

VIDEO: Watch part 1 of Metallica The Early Years from Spotify
Metallica’s early years explored in new Spotify series
Metallica to stream new Minneapolis stadium concert
Metallica to perform at Global Citizen Festival
Search Metallica at hennemusic