Monday, September 19, 2016

VIDEO: Extreme preview Pornograffitti Live 25 package

Extreme have announced a new release date for their forthcoming set, “Pornograffitti Live 25: Metal Meltdown.”

Originally due September 23, the project – which captures the Boston band performing the 1990 album in its entirety at The Joint at the Hard Rock Casino in Las Vegas last year on the occasion of its 25th anniversary – will now be issued on October 14.

The group’s second album, “Extreme II: Pornograffitti (A Funked Up Fairy Tale)”, featured two hit singles, “More Than Words” and “Hole Hearted” - both acoustic-based numbers – while most of the album was a mix of hard rock and funk.

The project peaked at No. 10 on the US Billboard 200 on its way to US sales of more than 2 million copies.

Directed by Brian Lockwood, the “Pornograffitti Live 25: Metal Meltdown” package includes a Blu-ray, DVD and audio CD of the complete concert that was filmed on May 30, 2015 as part of an event headlined by Twisted Sister – who issued the first DVD set in the Metal Meltdown series earlier this tear.

“It was a great thrill to perform Pornograffitti in its entirety,” says singer Gary Cherone. “Some of these songs were never played live before so we had to go back and relearn them for the tour. The album was a watershed moment in the bands career…it’s when we came in to our own and it will always be special.”

“The band always prided itself on its live performance,” adds guitarist Nuno Bettencourt. “Over the years, some of these songs have evolved where the band actually plays them better now than when we had recorded them. Hope you enjoy it.“

Extreme will play a series of shows in Japan starting September 29 in Tokyo that will see them perform side three from their 1992 album, “III Sides To Every Story”, in full for the first time ever.

"Pornograffitti Live 25: Metal Meltdown"

Release date: October 14

01. Decadence Dance
02. Li'l Jack Horny
03. When I'm President
04. Get the Funk Out
05. More Than Words
06. Money (In God We Trust)
07. It's A Monster
08. Pornograffitti
09. When I First Kissed You
10. Suzi (Wants Her All Day What?)
11. Flight Of The Wounded Bumble Bee
12. He-Man Woman Hater
13. Song For Love
14. Hole Hearted
15. Play With Me*
16. Cupid's Dead*

* Songs do not appear on the audio CD.

See also:

Extreme announce special Japanese tour shows
Extreme to release Pornograffitti Live 25 package
Extreme to film Las Vegas concert for release
Extreme announce South American tour
Search Extreme at hennemusic