Monday, January 23, 2017

AUDIO: Ray Davies previews new album with lead single Poetry

Ray Davies of The Kinks is streaming “Poetry” as the lead single to his first solo album in nearly a decade, “Americana.”

Due April 21, the project is an autobiographical work based around Davies’ 2013 memoir, “Americana: The Kinks, the Riff, the Road: The Story”, which chronicles his experiences in America - from touring the country with The Kinks and subsequent blacklisting by the American Musicians Union to his years playing stadiums and eventually staying in New York and New Orleans for a time.

Co-produced by Davies, Guy Massey and John Jackson, the follow-up to 2008’s “Working Man’s Café” was recorded in London with The Jayhawks as the singer’s backing band, while the set also features a number of short spoken-word passages from the memoir.

”Americana” will be issued via CD, vinyl and digital download, while a second volume will be a released later in 2017.

Davies was recently knighted in his native UK for his service to the arts as part of Queen Elizabeth's annual New Year Honours list.

The rocker was named among a lengthy list of UK citizens who were recognized for their work and contributions to society.

It’s the second UK honour bestowed upon The Kinks frontman, who was initially awarded the CBE – Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire – by the Queen in 2004.

Ray Davies

Release date: April 21

01. Americana
02. The Deal
03. Poetry
04. Message From The Road
05. A Place In Your Heart
06. The Mystery Room
07. Silent Movie
08. Rock 'N' Roll Cowboys
09. Change For Change
10. The Man Upstairs
11. I’ve Heard That Beat Before
12. A Long Drive Home To Tarzana
13. The Great Highway
14. The Invaders
15. Wings Of Fantasy

See also:

Ray Davies of The Kinks receives UK knighthood
The Kinks – Low Budget 35th anniversary featured on In The Studio
Kinks slam BBC over claims Jimmy Page played on You Really Got Me
AC/DC: Kinks guitarist offers Malcolm Young message of support
Search The Kinks at hennemusic