Thursday, May 11, 2017

The Cars announce Candy-O and Panorama expanded reissues

The Cars will release expanded reissues of 1979’s “Candy-O” and 1980’s “Panorama” via Rhino Records on July 28.

“Candy-O” arrived one year after the huge success of the Boston band’s self-titled debut and was introduced by the US Top 15 hit single “Let’s Go.” The project reached No. 3 on the Billboard 200 on its way to US platinum sales within two months after release, eventually racking up US sales of more than 4 million copies.

The expanded “Candy-O” reissue features the original album plus seven bonus tracks of alternate mixes and the previously unissued version of "They Won't See You."

1980 saw the group release their third album, “Panorama.” The Cars’ third consecutive platinum album peaked at No. 3 on the Billboard 200 with the help of the US Top 40 single, “Touch And Go.”

The expanded reissue of “Panorama” presents the original release plus four bonus tunes, including the previously unreleased songs "Shooting For You," "Be My Baby" and "The Edge."

The “Candy-O” and “Panorama” reissues will be available on CD, 2LP vinyl and digitally.

The Cars have sold more than 23 million albums in the US alone since 1978.

The band were among the nominees for the 2016 and 2017 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame, but failed to be confirmed as inductees both years.

The Cars
“Candy-O” expanded reissue
Release date: July 28

01. "Let's Go"
02. "Since I Held You"
03. "It's All I Can Do"
04. "Double Life"
05. "Shoo Be Doo"
06. "Candy-O"
07. "Night Spots"
08. "You Can't Hold On Too Long"
09. "Lust For Kicks"
10. "Got A Lot On My Head"
11. "Dangerous Type"

Bonus Tracks

12. "Let's Go" (Roy Thomas Baker Monitor Mix)
13. "Candy-O" (Northern Studios Version)
14. "Nights Spots" (Northern Studios Version)
15. "Lust for Kicks" (Roy Thomas Baker Monitor Mix)
16. "Dangerous Type" (Northern Studios Version)
17. "They Won't See You" (Northern Studios Version, Previously Unissued)
18. "That's It" ("Let's Go" B-side)

The Cars
“Panorama” expanded reissue

Release date: July 28

01. "Panorama"
02. "Touch and Go"
03. "Gimme Some Slack"
04. "Don't Tell Me No"
05. "Getting Through"
06. "Misfit Kid"
07. "Down Boys"
08. "You Wear Those Eyes"
09. "Running Up To You"
10. "Up and Down"

Bonus Tracks

11. "Shooting For You" (Previously Unissued)
12. "Be My Baby" (Previously Unissued)
13. "The Edge" (Previously Unissued)
14. "Don't Go To Pieces" ("Don't Tell Me No" B-side)

See also:

Pearl Jam, Journey, ELO lead 2017 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame nominees
The Cars to reissue classic albums in 6-disc box set
The Cars: 35th anniversary of Candy-O featured on In The Studio
The Cars: 35th anniversary of debut album featured on In The Studio
Search The Cars at hennemusic