Tuesday, May 9, 2017

ZZ Top: Cinco vinyl box set to feature first five albums

ZZ Top will release “Cinco: The First Five LPs”, a vinyl box set delivering the group’s first five albums, on June 9.

The package includes “ZZ Top’s First Album” (1971), 1972’s “Rio Grande Mud”, 1973’s “Tres Hombres”, “Fandango!” (1975) and 1976’s “Tejas.”

The albums established Billy Gibbons, Dusty Hill and Frank Beard’s finely-tuned blend of blues, hard rock, southern rock and more, with 1973’s “Tres Hombres” providing the band’s commercial breakthrough thanks, in part, to the their first hit, “La Grange.”

Pressed on heavyweight 180-gram vinyl, “Cinco: The First Five LPs” is presented in a box made to look like the custom “Nudie Suits” worn by the Texas trio on stage.

ZZ Top are currently on the road across North America on the Tonnage Tour, which runs into early June before the group play a month of European shows in July.

See also:

ZZ Top expand North American tour
ZZ Top announce first dates for 2017 tour
VIDEO: ZZ Top and Jeff Beck perform Sixteen Tons
ZZ Top to perform on Conan
Search ZZ Top at hennemusic