Thursday, July 27, 2017

AUDIO: The Cars stream unreleased track from expanded Candy-O reissue

The Cars are streaming the unreleased track, “They Won’t See You”, as a preview to the July 28 release of an expanded reissue of their 1979 album, “Candy-O.”

The Northern Studios session recording of the tune follows a stripped-down demo version originally included in the 1999 reissue of the Boston, MA band’s 1978 debut.

Led by the US Top 15 hit single “Let’s Go”, “Candy-O” reached No. 3 on the Billboard 200 on its way to US platinum sales within two months after release, eventually racking up US sales of more than 4 million copies.

The expanded “Candy-O” reissue features the original album plus six bonus tracks of alternate mixes and the previously unissued version of "They Won't See You."

An expanded reissue of The Cars’ third album, “Panorama”, will also be released on July 28.

The group’s third consecutive platinum album peaked at No. 3 on the Billboard 200 with the help of the US Top 40 single, “Touch And Go.”

The expanded reissue of “Panorama” presents the original release plus four bonus tunes, including the previously unreleased songs "Shooting For You," "Be My Baby" and "The Edge."

The “Candy-O” and “Panorama” reissues will be available on CD, 2LP vinyl and digitally.

Track lists for both projects can be found below.

The Cars
“Candy-O” expanded reissue
Release date: July 28

01. "Let's Go"
02. "Since I Held You"
03. "It's All I Can Do"
04. "Double Life"
05. "Shoo Be Doo"
06. "Candy-O"
07. "Night Spots"
08. "You Can't Hold On Too Long"
09. "Lust For Kicks"
10. "Got A Lot On My Head"
11. "Dangerous Type"

Bonus Tracks

12. "Let's Go" (Roy Thomas Baker Monitor Mix)
13. "Candy-O" (Northern Studios Version)
14. "Nights Spots" (Northern Studios Version)
15. "Lust for Kicks" (Roy Thomas Baker Monitor Mix)
16. "Dangerous Type" (Northern Studios Version)
17. "They Won't See You" (Northern Studios Version, Previously Unissued)
18. "That's It" ("Let's Go" B-side)

The Cars
“Panorama” expanded reissue

Release date: July 28

01. "Panorama"
02. "Touch and Go"
03. "Gimme Some Slack"
04. "Don't Tell Me No"
05. "Getting Through"
06. "Misfit Kid"
07. "Down Boys"
08. "You Wear Those Eyes"
09. "Running Up To You"
10. "Up and Down"

Bonus Tracks

11. "Shooting For You" (Previously Unissued)
12. "Be My Baby" (Previously Unissued)
13. "The Edge" (Previously Unissued)
14. "Don't Go To Pieces" ("Don't Tell Me No" B-side)

See also:

The Cars announce Candy-O and Panorama expanded reissues
Pearl Jam, Journey, ELO lead 2017 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame nominees
The Cars to reissue classic albums in 6-disc box set
The Cars: 35th anniversary of Candy-O featured on In The Studio
Search The Cars at hennemusic