Monday, July 31, 2017

Rolling Stones announce Their Satanic Majesties Request 50th anniversary reissue

The Rolling Stones will release a 50th anniversary reissue of the 1967 album, "Their Satanic Majesties Request", via ABKCO Music on September 22.

Available as a special Deluxe Edition box set containing double vinyl/double hybrid Super Audio CD (compatible with all CD players), the set delivers both the stereo and mono versions of the project newly-remastered by Bob Ludwig.

Originally released in December of 1967, “Their Satanic Majesties Request” is the first self-produced album in The Rolling Stones’ catalog. Featuring the US Top 25 single, “She’s A Rainbow” – with string arrangements by future Led Zeppelin member John Paul Jones - the record peaked at No. 2 on the US Billboard 200 on its way to Gold status Stateside for sales of 500,000 copies.

“Their Satanic Majesties Request” was recorded in pieces between February and October of 1967 during a tumultuous period for the group: Mick Jagger, Keith Richards and Brian Jones were arrested for drug possession, with Jones spending three weeks in a nursing home. The Stones’ original manager/producer Andrew Loog Oldham quit halfway through recording sessions, leaving the band to finish the album on their own. Very rarely were all five members in the studio at the same time but despite these impediments, drummer Charlie Watts recalled, “The sessions were a lot of fun because you could do anything. It was so druggy - acid and all that.”

The 2017 reissue includes Michael Cooper’s original 3-D lenticular cover photograph, featuring the band at the peak of the psychedelic era, in a fold-out album limited edition numbered package with a 20 page book including more of Cooper’s photos from the original session.

“Their Satanic Majesties Request” was originally mixed in both stereo and mono, as was standard practice in 1967. The limited edition 50th anniversary edition will include the entire album on 180 gram vinyl in stereo, another 180 gram vinyl record in mono, and two hybrid Super Audio CDs (one in stereo and one in mono). Each of these discs includes the entire musical content in both Super Audio CD (SACD) as well as standard CD, providing for complete backward and forward hardware compatibility. The discs will play flawlessly on any SACD compatible or standard CD player.

The Rolling Stones are working on a new album of original material, their first since 2005’s “A Bigger Bang.”

Last week, frontman Mick Jagger released videos for a pair of new songs: “England Lost” and “Gotta Get A Grip”, the day after his 74th birthday.

The Rolling Stones
“Their Satanic Majesties Request – 50th Anniversary Edition”
(stereo and mono mixes)
Release date: September 22

01. “Sing This All Together”
02. “Citadel”
03. “In Another Land”
04. “2000 Man”
05. “Sing This All Together (See What Happens)”
06. “She’s a Rainbow”
07. “The Lantern”
08. “Gomper”
09. “2000 Light Years from Home”
10. “On With the Show”

See also:

VIDEO: Mick Jagger releases two new solo tracks
Rolling Stones to release On Air In The Sixties book and DVD
Rolling Stones guitarist Ronnie Wood recovering after lung surgery
Rolling Stones announce European tour
Search Rolling Stones at hennemusic