Thursday, September 7, 2017

AUDIO: Stone Temple Pilots stream MTV Unplugged version of Wicked Garden

The Stone Temple Pilots are streaming audio of a previously unreleased live version of “Wicked Garden” from their 1993 appearance on MTV’s Unplugged, as the latest preview to the September 29 release of multiple 25th anniversary deluxe editions of their debut album, “Core.”

“Oh, that was nerve-wracking. I was so nervous,” bassist Robert DeLeo tells Billboard. “There's something about volume and turning things up so loud that allows you to hide behind the wall of sound, and there we were doing something we'd only done together when we were alone in a room, just us.

“I remember getting to ‘Creep,’ and I have a little vocal part in there where I answer [singer] Scott [Weiland], and looking back at the video you see my hands were shaking, I was so nervous. It was part of growing as a musician in front of a large audience. No one prepares you for that.”

Audio of band’s MTV set is featured on the third disc of the 4CD/1DVD/1LP Super Deluxe Edition of “Core”, which is limited to just 15,000 copies worldwide.

The package delivers a newly-remastered version of the original record, plus more than two hours of unreleased demos and live performances. The set also features the original album on vinyl and a DVD that contains a 5.1 Surround Sound Mix along with videos for the album’s four singles: “Sex Type Thing”, “Plush”, “Wicked Garden” and “Creep.”

A 2CD Deluxe Version contains a newly-remastered version of the original album expanded with rare b-sides and previously unreleased demos, while a single disc remaster of the original album will also be available.

“Core” peaked at No. 3 on the US Billboard 200 on its way to sales of more than 8 million copies Stateside and a 1994 Grammy Award for “Best Hard Rock Performance” for their Top 20 hit, “Plush.”

NOTE: The audio below is not available in all regions due to restrictions at source beyond hennemusic’s control.

Stone Temple Pilots
"Core: Super Deluxe Edition"

Release date: September 29

Disc One: Original Album Remastered

01. Dead & Bloated
02. Sex Type Thing
03. Wicked Garden
04. No Memory
05. Sin
06. Naked Sunday
07. Creep
08. Piece Of Pie
09. Plush
10. Wet My Bed
11. Crackerman
12. Where The River Goes

Disc Two: Demos And B-sides

01. Only Dying – Demo *
02. Wicked Garden - Demo *
03. Naked Sunday - Demo *
04. Where The River Goes - Demo *
05. Dead & Bloated - Demo *
06. Sex Type Thing - Demo *
07. Sin – Demo *
08. Creep – Demo *
09. Plush – Demo *
10. Sex Type Thing – Swing Type Version
11. Plush - Acoustic Type Version
12. Creep - New Album Version
13. Plush - Acoustic from MTV Headbanger's Ball (Take 1)

Disc Three: Live 1993

Live At Castaic Lake Natural Amphitheater (July 2, 1993)

01. Crackerman *
02. Wicked Garden *
03. No Memory *
04. Sin *
05. Plush *
06. Where The River Goes *
07. Sex Type Thing *
08. Wet My Bed *
09. Naked Sunday *

Live At The Reading Festival (August 27, 1993)

10. Wicked Garden
11. No Memory *
12. Sin
13. Lounge Fly *
14. Dead & Bloated
15. Sex Type Thing
16. Naked Sunday*

Disc Four: MTV Unplugged (November 17, 1993)

01. Crackerman
02. Creep *
03. Andy Warhol
04. Plush *
05. Big Empty *
06. Wicked Garden *
07. Sex Type Thing *

Disc Five: (DVD) Original Album 5.1 Mix, 24/96 Stereo Audio, And Music Videos

* Previously Unreleased

See also:

AUDIO: Stone Temple Pilots stream unreleased live version of Plush
Stone Temple Pilots announce Core 25th anniversary reissues
Stone Temple Pilots pay tribute to Scott Weiland on first anniversary of his death
Stone Temple Pilots respond to new singer rumours
Search Stone Temple Pilots at hennemusic