Thursday, September 14, 2017

Ronnie Montrose streams Heavy Traffic from final studio album

The team behind Ronnie Montrose are streaming the track “Heavy Traffic” as the latest preview to the September 29 posthumous release of the late guitarist’s final studio album, “10x10.”

Before his March 2012 death from a self-inflicted gunshot wound following a five year battle with prostate cancer, Montrose was working on the project as a power trio with bassist Ricky Phillips (Styx, Bad English) and drummer Eric Singer (Kiss, Alice Cooper).

“‘Heavy Traffic’ started off as our tip of the hat to the British band, Humble Pie,” says Phillips of the song, which also features Y&T frontman and guitarist Dave Meniketti. “The singer, Eric Martin from Mr. Big, originally screamed ‘Ronnie!’ leading into the guitar solo, and one restless night it hit me. That’s how the record should start — and then Ronnie crushes it.”

The guitarist designed “10x10” as a project that would deliver ten songs with ten different singers, and the power trio recorded basic tracks for all the songs live in the studio in just a few days.

Following Montrose’s suicide, Phillips completed the album on behalf of his late colleague with the blessing of his widow, Leighsa.

Featured guests on the set include Edgar Winter, Glenn Hughes, Def Leppard guitarist Phil Collen, Aerosmith guitarist Brad Whitford, Joe Bonamassa and Tommy Shaw, among others – including former Montrose singer Sammy Hagar, who appears on the song “Color Blind”, which can be heard here.

“10x10” will be available on CD, vinyl and via digital formats.

In addition to the solo record, Montrose will release an expanded, remastered reissue of his band’s classic 1973 self-titled debut, and 1974’s “Paper Money”, via Rhino Records on October 13.

Both albums are expanded with live material from the era.

Ronnie Montrose

Release date: September 29

“Heavy Traffic” (Eric Martin and Dave Meniketti)
“Love Is an Art” (Edgar Winter and Rick Derringer)
“Color Blind” (Sammy Hagar and Steve Lukather)
“Still Singin’ With the Band” (Glenn Hughes, Phil Collen Jimmy “Z” Zavala)
“Strong Enough” (Tommy Shaw)
“Any Minute” (Mark Farner and Ricky Phillips)
“The Kingdom’s Come Undone” (Ricky Phillips and Joe Bonamassa)
“One Good Reason” (Bruce Turgon and Brad Whitford)
“Head On Straight” (Davey Pattison and Marc Bonilla)
“I’m Not Lying” (Gregg Rolie, Tom Gimbel and Lawrence Gowan)

See also:

Montrose to release expanded reissue of 1973 debut
AUDIO: Sammy Hagar guests on final album by Ronnie Montrose
Ronnie Montrose memorial concert announced
Sammy Hagar recalls final conversation with Ronnie Montrose
Search Montrose at hennemusic