Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Sex Pistols to release 40th anniversary edition of album debut

The Sex Pistols will release an expanded 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition of their 1977 album debut, “Never Mind The Bollocks, Here’s The Sex Pistols”, on October 27.

Originally issued in 2012, the 3CD/1DVD set – widely considered to be the definitive collection – has been out-of-print from some time.

The 2017 budget-priced smaller-sized Deluxe Edition features the original studio album with b-sides from the era, a disc of outtakes and one disc of live material alongside a DVD featuring the band playing various venues, including the infamous 1977 boat party held on the River Thames in London that resulted in arrests, chaos and healines.

The package is accompanied by a 48-page hardback book with narrative from music journalist Pat Gilbert plus rare photos from Bob Gruen, Barry Plummer, John Tiberi and Dave Wainwright.

A full track list for the Deluxe Edition can be found below.

Inspired by New York bands the Ramones and the New York Dolls, among others, the Sex PistolsJohnny Rotten, Steve Jones, Paul Cook and Glen Matlock (later replaced by Sid Vicious) – helped to propel the UK punk scene through a series of four singles and one album before disbanding just three months after its release.

The 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition of “Never Mind The Bollocks, Here’s The Sex Pistols” arrives one day after the October 26 release of “1977: The Bollocks Diaries”, a new book detailing “the official, inside story of the whirlwind year of 1977” which saw the band record and release the album while making headlines throughout their native UK.

The book will deliver first-hand stories of secret gigs, recording sessions, fights, record label meltdowns and the accompanying media storm that rocked the UK.

The Sex Pistols
"Never Mind The Bollocks – 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition”

Release date: October 27

Disc 1 - Never Mind The Bollocks

01. Holidays In The Sun
02. Bodies
03. No Feelings
04. Liar
05. God Save The Queen
06. Problems
07. Seventeen
08. Anarchy In The UK
09. Submission
10. Pretty Vacant
11. New York
12. EMI

Disc 2 – Studio Rarities, Demos & Outtakes

Studio Rarities & B Sides

01. No Feeling (B side of withdrawn God Save The Queen On A&M Records)
02. Did You No Wrong (B side of God Save The Queen)
03. No Fun (B side of Pretty Vacant)
04. Satellite (B side of Holidays In The Sun)

Dave Goodman Demos

05. New York (Demo Version)
06. Unlimited Edition (Demo Version of "EMI")
07. Liar (Demo Version)
08. Pretty Vacant (Demo Version)
09. Problems (Demo Version)
10. No Future (Demo Version of "God Save The Queen")

Chris Thomas Demos & Outtakes

11. Did You No Wrong (Alternative Vocal)
12. Seventeen (Alternative Vocal)
13. Satellite (Rough Mix)
14. Submission (Rough Mix)
15. Holidays In The Sun (Rough Mix)
16. EMI (Rough Mix)
17. Seventeen (Rough Mix)
18. Holidays In The Sun (Alternative Mix)
19. Body (Demo Version Of "Bodies")
20. Submission (Alternative Mix)
21. Belsen Was A Gas (Demo Version)

Disc 3 - 1977 Live

Trondheim – StudentersamfuNdet, Norway

01. Anarchy In The UK
02. I Wanna Be Me
03. Seventeen
04. New York
05. EMI
06. No Fun
07. No Feelings
08. Problems
09. God Save The Queen

Happy House – Stockholm, Sweden

10. Anarchy In The UK
11. I Wanna Be Me
12. Seventeen
13. New York
14. EMI
15. Submission
16. No Feelings
17. Problems
18. God Save The Queen
19. Pretty Vacant
20. No Fun

Disc 4 - DVD 1977 footage

Riverboat Party – River Thames London 1977

01. Pretty Vacant
02. Anarchy In The UK
03. Problems

Happy House Stockholm – Sweden 1977

04. Anarchy In The UK
05. I Wanna Be Me
06. Seventeen
07. New York
08. Problems
09. No Fun

Winter Gardens – Penzance – Cornwall 1977

10. Problems
11. No Fun
12. Anarchy In The UK

Promo Videos

13. Good Save The Queen
14. Pretty Vacant
15. Holidays In The Sun

Radio 1 Rock On Interview

16. John And Sid Interview

See also:

Sex Pistols to publish 1977 The Bollocks Diaries
VIDEO: Motorhead preview Under Cover collection with Sex Pistols classic
Sex Pistols to issue 4-disc 1976 live box set
Sex Pistols guitarist Steve Jones to publish memoir
Search The Sex Pistols at hennemusic