Saturday, March 10, 2018

Jimi Hendrix releases Lover Man video

The team behind Jimi Hendrix is streaming a video for the previously-unreleased studio version of “Lover Man” from the newly-issued album “Both Sides Of The Sky.”

Directed by John Vondracek, the clip mixes archival footage of Hendrix performing the song with the Band Of Gypsys alongside photographs and home movies of the iconic guitarist.

Recorded in December of 1969 by the trio that would come to be known as Band Of Gypsys – Hendrix, bassist Billy Cox and drummer Buddy Miles "Lover Man" sees the rocker slide in a snippet of the theme from the 1960s TV series Batman.

"Imagine Jimi doing a take and when everything falls apart, he'd start playing the Batman or Peter Gunn theme without missing a beat," producer Eddie Kramer tells Rolling Stone. "He'd do something really silly and stupid and everybody would be cracking up. He wanted to keep it light. He'd also do it to change it up a bit and inevitably those lines would work themselves into songs, and that's Jimi's sly humor."

Featuring 10 previously unreleased songs, “Both Sides Of The Sky” marks the third volume in a trilogy from the Hendrix archives, following 2010’s “Valleys Of Neptune” and 2013’s “People, Hell And Angels.”

The project includes guest appearances by Johnny Winter, Stephen Stills, Lonnie Youngblood and original Jimi Hendrix Experience members Mitch Mitchell and Noel Redding.

Jimi Hendrix
“Both Sides Of The Sky”

Release date: March 9

01. "Mannish Boy" (previously unreleased)
02. "Lover Man" (previously unreleased)
03. "Hear My Train A Comin'" (previously unreleased)
04. "Stepping Stone" (previously unreleased)
05. "$20 Fine" (previously unreleased, featuring Stephen Stills)
06. "Power Of Soul" (previously unavailable extended version)
07. "Jungle" (previously unreleased)
08. "Things I Used To Do" (featuring Johnny Winter)
09. "Georgia Blues" (featuring Lonnie Youngblood)
10. "Sweet Angel" (previously unreleased)
11. "Woodstock" (previously unreleased, featuring Stephen Stills)
12. "Send My Love To Linda" (previously unreleased)
13. "Cherokee Mist" (previously unreleased)

See also:

AUDIO: Jimi Hendrix streams Lover Man from Both Sides Of The Sky
AUDIO: Jimi Hendrix streams Hear My Train A Comin’ from Both Sides Of The Sky
VIDEO: Jimi Hendrix producer Eddie Kramer previews Both Sides Of The Sky
Queen, Aerosmith, Nirvana recordings among Grammy Hall Of Fame inductees
Search Jimi Hendrix at hennemusic