Monday, March 12, 2018

Neil Young to release Paradox film soundtrack

Neil Young and the Promise Of The Real will release the soundtrack to the upcoming film, “Paradox”, on double vinyl and digital on March 23, with the CD to follow on April 20.

Produced by Young and John Hanlon, the project presents music from the singer in multiple configurations: with the band; with an Orchestra recorded on the MGM Soundstage; backed by Jim Keltner, Paul Bushnell and Joe Yankee; and, performing several solo electric guitar passages.

Written and directed by Daryl Hannah, “Paradox” is billed as a fantasy western that sees a band of cowboys and outlaws pass the days hiding out in the mountains, digging for treasure while they wait for the full moon to bring its magic; Young plays the “Man In The Black Hat” alongside Promise Of The Real members Micah Nelson “The “Particle Kid”) and Lukas Nelson (“Jail Time”).

“Paradox” will see its world premiere at the SXSW Film Festival in Austin, TX on March 15 before appearing on Netflix on March 23 and in a limited theatrical release.

Beyond the film soundtrack, Young will issue “Roxy - Tonight's The Night Live”, a recording from a series of September 1973 shows at the famous Los Angeles club, in April.

The set captures the guitarist performing during the venue’s opening week with the Santa Monica Flyers, the name he gave to the band featured on his sixth album, comprised of Nils Lofgren on piano, Ben Keith on pedal steel guitar, and Crazy Horse members Billy Talbot on bass and Ralph Molina on drums.

The 2018 release presents the live debuts of several of the songs that would feature on the rocker’s 1975 album, “Tonight's The Night.”

Neil Young & Promise Of The Real
“Paradox” (Original Music From The Film)

Release date: March 23

01. "Many Moons Ago In The Future" (narration by Willie Nelson)
02. "Show Me"
03. "Paradox Passage 1"
04. "Hey"
05. "Paradox Passage 2"
06. "Diggin' In The Dirt" - Chorus
07. "Paradox Passage 3"
08. "Peace Trail"
09. "Pocahontas"
10. "Cowgirl Jam"
11. "Angel Flying Too Close to The Ground" (written by Willie Nelson)
12. "Paradox Passage 4"
13. "Diggin' In The Dirt"
14. "Paradox Passage 5"
15. "Running To The Silver Eagle"
16. "Baby What You Want Me To Do?"
17. "Paradox Passage 6"
18. "Offerings"
19. "How Long?"
20. "Happy Together"
21. "Tumbleweed"

See also:

Neil Young details Roxy Tonight’s The Night Live album
Neil Young to release 1973 Los Angeles club show
Neil Young launches online music archive
AUDIO: Neil Young streams single from forthcoming album The Visitor
Search Neil Young at hennemusic