Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Allman Brothers Band preview archival 2003 live release

The Allman Brothers Band are streaming a live version of their “Hittin’ The Note” tune, “Desdemona”, as a preview to the June 15 release of their archival package “Peach Picks: Cream Of The Crop 2003.”

The 36-track, 4 disc set presents a collection of the best performances culled from six shows by the legendary group in July and August 2003 (see track list below), including material from events in Indianapolis, Pittsburgh, Darien Center, NY, Hartford, Charlotte and Raleigh … with no song repeated.

The 2003 iteration of the Allman Brothers Band – founding members Gregg Allman, Jaimoe and Butch Trucks plus Warren Haynes, Marc Quinones, Oteil Burbridge and Derek Trucks – would prove to be the longest-running line-up and most consistent in its live performances. The band had just released their first album in 10 years, the Grammy-nominated “Hittin’ The Note”, and were in top shape for its accompanying tour.

“That was an important time in the growth of that incarnation of the ABB,” recalls guitarist and Supervising Producer Haynes. “We had just released Hittin’ The Note and everybody was psyched to be playing a lot of new material from an album we all were very proud of and there was new life being breathed into a lot of the older songs.”

Originally recorded for the then-nascent “Instant Live” CD series, guest musicians on four “Cream Of The Crop 2003” songs include Susan Tedeschi, Karl Denson and Branford Marsalis.

Continuing the tradition of providing quality content for fans, "Peach Picks: Cream Of The Crop 2003" will be available in an array of configurations. The full curated four-CD set will be offered, both physically and digitally. Each of the full six concerts will also be available for completists, and this marks the first time any of this music has been made available digitally.

“Peach Picks: Cream Of The Crop 2003” is dedicated to the memory of Gregg Allman, who passed away in May 2017 from complications of liver cancer at the age of 69.

The Allman Brothers Band
“Peach Picks: Cream Of The Crop 2003”

Release date: June 15

Disc One

1) Don’t Want You No More
2) It’s Not My Cross To Bear
3) Black Hearted Woman
4) Rocking Horse
5) Hot ‘Lanta
6) Old Before My Time
7) Come And Go Blues
8) Woman Across The River
9) Desdemona
10) The High Cost Of Low Living
11) Hoochie Coochie Man
12) Revival

Disc Two

1) Trouble No More
2) Midnight Rider
3) You Don’t Love Me
4) Who To Believe
5) Stormy Monday
6) Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
7) In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed

Disc Three

1) Ain’t Wastin’ Time No More
2) Worried Down With The Blues
3) Statesboro Blues
4) Stand Back
5) Melissa
6) Mountain Jam
7) Layla

Disc Four

1) Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’
2) Done Somebody Wrong
3) Gambler’s Roll
4) Soulshine
5) Who’s Been Talking
6) Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright
7) Wasted Words
8) Dreams
9) Whipping Post
10) One Way Out

See also:

Gregg Allman 70th birthday marked with Song For Adam video release
Gregg Allman’s final album nominated for two Grammy Awards
Gregg Allman releases video for I Love The Life I Live
AUDIO: Gregg Allman streams Willie Dixon classic from final album
Search The Allman Brothers at hennemusic