Wednesday, August 8, 2018

The Doors stream rough mix of Hello, I Love You

The Doors are streaming a rough mix of their 1968 hit, “Hello, I Love You”, as a preview to the September 14 release of an expanded 50th anniversary edition of their third album, “Waiting For The Sun.”

“What a great opener, ‘Hello, I love you, tell me your name,'” drummer John Densmore tells Rolling Stone. “Like, whoa, OK. That’s aggressive. You’re in love with me but you don’t know my credentials? It’s about an African-American girl [Jim Morrison] saw on the boardwalk in Venice. ‘Do you hope to make her see you, fool?/Do you hope to pluck this dusky jewel?' Who puts words like that to rock & roll? Only Jim."

50 years after “Hello, I Love You” topped the US charts on August 3, 1968, Rhino Records released a new 7” version of the single with its b-side, “Love Street” on August 3, 2018. For this anniversary release and vinyl debut, Rhino used mono radio mixes of the songs that were given exclusively to radio stations for airplay in 1968.

The “Waiting For The Sun: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition” is a 2-CD/1-LP collection that features a new version of the album’s original stereo mix on both CD and 180-gram vinyl LP, which has been newly remastered from the original master tapes by The Doors’ longtime engineer/mixer Bruce Botnick.

Also to be available on digital download and streaming services, the set includes a second disc of 14 completely unreleased tracks: nine recently discovered “rough mixes” from the album recording sessions and five live songs from a 1968 Copenhagen show.

The deluxe edition of the album also features unreleased live recordings of five songs from The Doors’ September 17, 1968 concert in Copenhagen. The performance includes three songs from the band’s latest album – “Hello, I Love You,” “Five To One,” and “The Unknown Soldier” – plus the classics “Back Door Man” and “The WASP (Texas Radio And The Big Beat).”

The Doors
“Waiting For The Sun: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition”

Release date: September 14

Disc One

01. "Hello, I Love You"
02. "Love Street"
03. "Not To Touch The Earth"
04. "Summer's Almost Gone"
05. "Wintertime Love"
06. "The Unknown Soldier"
07. "Spanish Caravan"
08. "My Wild Love"
09. "We Could Be So Good Together"
10. "Yes, The River Knows"
11. "Five To One"

Disc Two (all tracks previously unreleased)

Rough Mixes

01. "Hello, I Love You"
02. "Summer's Almost Gone"
03. "Yes, The River Knows"
04. "Spanish Caravan"
05. "Love Street"
06. "Wintertime Love"
07. "Not To Touch The Earth"
08. "Five To One"
09. "My Wild Love"

Live In Copenhagen

10. "The WASP (Texas Radio And The Big Beat)"
11. "Hello, I Love You"
12. "Back Door Man"
13. "Five To One"

See also:

The Doors announce 50th anniversary edition of Waiting For The Sun
VIDEO: The Doors preview The Big Interview with Dan Rather on AXS TV
VIDEO: The Doors perform When The Music’s Over at the 1970 Isle Of Wight Festival
VIDEO: The Doors perform Light My Fire at the 1970 Isle Of Wight Festival
Search The Doors at hennemusic