Friday, September 21, 2018

Chris Cornell collection previewed with unreleased track When Bad Does Good

A newly-announced self-titled collection of Chris Cornell’s work is being previewed with a lyric video for the previously-unreleased track, “When Bad Does Good.”

The tune was produced, recorded, and mixed by Cornell and was found in his personal recordings archive; a favorite of the late Soundgarden rocker, it wasn't until friend Josh Brolin reminded the singer’s wife, Vicky, of the unreleased song that she decided to share it with his fans.

“When Bad Does Good” is featured on the new collection, “Chris Cornell”; due November 16, the package is offered in multiple formats, including a single 17-track release and a 64-track limited-edition deluxe box set (see track lists below).

Both versions present material from Cornell’s extensive career as a solo artist and work with Soundgarden, Temple Of The Dog and Audioslave.

In addition to the CD releases, the collection will be available as a double-LP, pressed on 180-gram vinyl. There will also be a limited edition, Super Deluxe set, which includes the deluxe edition, which contains the four discs from the deluxe edition, seven LPs and a DVD, which adds two previously unreleased videos.

The project marks the first release of Cornell’s music since his 2017 death while on the road with Soundgarden.

"Since Chris's sudden passing, I have put all my efforts and energy into sharing his music and legacy with his fans from all over the world," says Vicky Cornell. "I felt we needed to create a special collection to represent all of him — the friend, husband and father, the risk taker and innovator, the poet and artist. His soaring vocals found their way into the hearts and souls of so many. His voice was his vision and his words were his peace. This album is for his fans."

Cornell will be honored with an unveiling ceremony of a life-size bronze statue in his Seattle hometown on Sunday, October 7.

Cornell’s widow, Vicky, will be on hand at the city’s Museum Of Pop Culture for the tribute to the singer that features a tribute by sculptor Nick Marras that depicts the rocker “in one of his iconic poses with his signature boots, dog tag, layers and long locks.”

The statue will stand outside of MoPOP’s gold south entrance facing Fifth Avenue.

Chris Cornell
“Chris Cornell”

Single Disc
Release date: November 16

01. “Loud Love” (Soundgarden)
02. “Outshined” (Soundgarden)
03. “Hunger Strike” (Temple of the Dog)
04. “Seasons”
05. “Black Hole Sun” (Soundgarden)
06. “Can’t Change Me”
07. “Like a Stone” (Audioslave)
08. “Be Yourself” (Audioslave)
09. “You Know My Name”
10. “Billie Jean”
11. “Long Gone” (Rock Version)
12. “Call Me a Dog” (Live Acoustic)
13. “Been Away Too Long” (Soundgarden)
14. “Nearly Forgot My Broken Heart”
15. “Nothing Compares 2 U” (Live at Sirius XM) *
16. “The Promise”
17. “When Bad Does Good” *

* Previously unreleased

Chris Cornell
“Chris Cornell”

Deluxe Edition
Release date: November 16

Disc One

01. “Hunted Down” (Soundgarden)
02. “Kingdom of Come” (Soundgarden)
03. “Flower” (Soundgarden)
04. “All Your Lies” (Soundgarden)
05. “Loud Love” (Soundgarden)
06. “Hands All Over” (Soundgarden)
07. “Say Hello 2 Heaven” (Temple of the Dog)
08. “Hunger Strike” (Temple of the Dog)
09. “Outshined” (Soundgarden)
10. “Rusty Cage” (Soundgarden)
11. “Seasons”
12. “Hey Baby” (Land Of The New Rising Sun)” (M.A.C.C.)
13. “Black Hole Sun” (Soundgarden)
14. “Spoonman” (Soundgarden)
15. “Dusty” (Soundgarden)
16. “Burden in My Hand” (Soundgarden)

Disc Two

01. “Sunshower”
02. “Sweet Euphoria”
03. “Can’t Change Me”
04. “Like a Stone” (Audioslave)
05. “Cochise” (Audioslave)
06. “Be Yourself” (Audioslave)
07. “Doesn’t Remind Me” (Audioslave)
08. “Revelations” (Audioslave)
09. “Shape of Things to Come” (Audioslave)
10. “You Know My Name”
11. “Billie Jean”
12. “Long Gone” (Rock Version)
13. “Scream”
14. “Part of Me” (Steve Aoki Remix)
15. “Ave Maria” (with Eleven)

Disc Three

01. “Promise” (Slash featuring Chris Cornell)
02. “Whole Lotta Love” (Santana featuring Chris Cornell)
03. “Call Me a Dog” (Live Acoustic)
04. “Imagine” (Live Acoustic)
05. “I Am the Highway” (Live Acoustic)
06. “The Keeper”
07. “Been Away Too Long” (Soundgarden)
08. “Live to Rise” (Soundgarden)
09. “Lies” (Gabin with Chris Cornell and Ace)
10. “Misery Chain” (with Joy Williams)
11. “Storm” (Soundgarden)
12. “Nearly Forgot My Broken Heart”
13. “Only These Words”
14. “Our Time in the Universe”
15. “‘Til the Sun Comes Back Around”
16. “Stay With Me Baby”
17. “The Promise”
18. “When Bad Does Good” *

Disc Four

01. “Into the Void” (Sealth)” (Live at the Paramount) (Soundgarden)
02. “Mind Riot” (Live at the Paramount) (Soundgarden)
03. “Nothing to Say” (Live in Seattle) (Soundgarden)
04. “Jesus Christ Pose” (Live in Oakland) (Soundgarden)
05. “Show Me How to Live” (Live in Cuba) (Audioslave) *
06. “Wide Awake” (Live in Sweden) *
07. “All Night Thing” (Live in Sweden) *
08. “Nothing Compares 2 U” (Live at Sirius XM) *
09. “One” (Live at Beacon Theatre) *
10. “Reach Down” (Live at the Paramount) (Temple of the Dog) *
11. “Stargazer” (Live at the Paramount) (Temple of the Dog) *
12. “Wild World” (Live at Pantages Theatre) (Yusuf/Cat Stevens with Chris Cornell) *
13. “A Day in The Life” (Live at the Royal Albert Hall) *
14. “Redemption Song” (Live at Beacon Theatre) (with Toni Cornell) *
15. “Thank You” (Live in Sweden)

* Previously unreleased

Chris Cornell
“Chris Cornell”

Super Deluxe Edition DVD
Release date: November 16

01. “Flower” (Soundgarden)
02. “Loud Love” (Soundgarden)
03. “Hunger Strike” (Temple of the Dog)
04. “Outshined” (Soundgarden)
05. “Jesus Christ Pose” (Soundgarden)
06. “Black Hole Sun” (Soundgarden)
07. “Fell on Black Days” (Soundgarden)
08. “Burden in My Hand” (Soundgarden)
09. “Can’t Change Me”
10. “Preaching the End of the World”
11. “Like a Stone” (Audioslave)
12. “Cochise” (Audioslave)
13. “Show Me How to Live” (Audioslave)
14. “Be Yourself” (Audioslave)
15. “Original Fire” (Audioslave)
16. “Arms Around Your Love”
17. “No Such Thing”
18. “Part of Me” (featuring Timbaland)
19. “Long Gone” (Rock Version)
20. “Scream” (Acoustic) *
21. “Live to Rise” (Soundgarden) *
22. “By Crooked Steps” (Soundgarden)
23. “Nearly Forgot My Broken Heart” (Lyric Video)
24. “The Promise”

* Previously unreleased

See also:

Soundgarden: Chris Cornell Seattle tribute statue ceremony rescheduled
Chris Cornell statue to be erected in Seattle
Heart: Ann Wilson streams Chris Cornell tribute from Immortal covers album
Chris Cornell’s daughter streams duet of Prince cover as Father’s Day tribute
Search Soundgarden at hennemusic